BISS of February contest | Pumpkin patties and Ajvar sandwich

in #biss3 years ago

Polish_20210224_191813836.jpg

I have already posted a few times, how I prepare homemade bread. You can find the recipe here.

I made a few loaves of bread and while it was baking, I went to explore my pantry. I was really grateful when I found a few small Hokkaido pumpkins, laying on the top of the shelves. I immediately thought about @mondoshawan's #biss sandwich contest.

Hokkaido pumpkins are one of the greatest gifts, my garden can give me, besides potatoes and onions. If there are stored in a dark and cold place, it will last the whole winter.

I took a jar of Ajvar, which is my favourite canned sauce, I did a lot last year, but since it's so good there are just a few small jars left. I will explain in a few words how I prepared it last fall. Some people make Ajvar just out of red peppers, oil and vinegar, but I like to use a few more kinds of vegetables into it.

I garbed another jar, with pickles and I went further on my sandwich journey.

Passing by the garden, I noticed a few early spring salad leaves. I took a few and ran into the kitchen with a full basket.
153854675_1482906968582880_1791093441264423342_n.jpg

Ingredients for patties:

  • a cup of rice
  • two small or one big Hokkaido pumpkin
  • small onion
  • two garlic cloves
  • a teaspoon of vegetable salt or salt
  • red sweet paprika powder
  • a teaspoon of chopped parsley
  • half a teaspoon of thyme
  • 60 g of breadcrumbs
  • 30 g of sesame seeds
  • 3 tablespoons of olive oil
    Polish_20210224_191610017.jpg

Preparation:

  1. Wash the rice in lots of water and drain it. Put it in a small pot and place it on the stove. Add 3 cups of salted boiling water and simmer for 10 minutes. Cover with a lid and set aside for at least 10 minutes.
  2. Peel the pumpkins and clean out the seeds. Cut it into small cubes, and boil it until tender, for about 15 minutes.
    Polish_20210224_191443037.jpg
    Drain it and transfer it into the blender.
  3. Finely dice onion and garlic. Fry the onion with a tablespoon of oil. Add garlic, vegetable salt or sea salt, red sweet paprika powder, chopped parsley and thyme. Add it to the pumpkin and blend together until smooth.
  4. Add pumpkin puree to the rice.
    Polish_20210224_191356511.jpg
    Add bread crumbs and mix well. Set aside for a few minutes, that the breadcrumbs soaks in the liquids.
  5. Roast sesame seeds in a hot pan. Blend roasted seeds, until you get a powder.
    Polish_20210224_191655463.jpg
  6. Form patties out of pumpkin and rice mixture, if it's crumbling, add more bread crumbs. Coat patties with sesame powder and fry it in a pan, with two tablespoons of oil.
    Polish_20210224_192243567.jpg

Ingredients for Ajavar:

  • 5 kg red meat, peppers (Kurt's Gate is the best for Ajvar)
  • 3 red tomatoes
  • 3 unripe green tomatoes
  • 3 eggplants
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 8 tablespoons of alcoholic white vinegar
  • 2.5 dl of oil
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • parsley, oregano, thyme, pepper

Preparation:

  1. Cut around the core and take the seeds out of the peppers. Coat whole red peppers, tomatoes and eggplants with oil and roast it. The best of it is to use an open fire, the get the smoked flavour, but you can also do it in a hot oven.
  2. Set aside for a few minutes to cool down a little. If you like you can peel the skin off the vegetables. I peel away only the parts where the skin is very loosened, but I don't really bother a lot with it.
  3. Slice vegetables and put it in a big pot. Add oil, crushed garlic, sugar and salt and fry for a few minutes (depends on the size of your pot). Add white vinegar and cook for another minute.
  4. Add herbs and blend well and you get delicious Ajvar. You can store it in a freezer or in jars, using water bath process. It will stay good for the whole year, if it lasts that long.
    Polish_20210224_190038320.jpg

While writing this post and adding photos, I noticed that I forgot to write a ticket with physical proof. I took a photo with the leftovers, I hope that's ok.
Polish_20210224_185904826.jpg

Sort:  

@dandays and @puravidaville u gonna lose your shit

😲 always and always again... your cooking is sooooo beautiful. Thanks for participating my Friend!

Thank you my friend!
You know.. I had to! 😁

Yeah, addiction is soooo baaad... 😊

Yeah, the addiction for sandwiches makes me want to cook even at the most impossible moments. 😁

Hahaha, i feel you there... especially when i surf all the foodies on the net.

Haha. Food lovers, we are all the same! 😆

yep, awake or dreaming ... 😆

Thank you for this recipe! Today I just search for a pumpkin recipe and I will try this recipe for sure! Bookmarked!

Don’t forget to share your others recipe on Foodies Bee Hive Community too ❤️

I should've known I'd find you here. My buddy @edprivat just showed me this recipe and you're the first person I thought of. I shoulda known you'd beat me here—good eye!

Mwah! Enjoy your weekend Angrrek. 💖

That's really cool! Have fun cooking @anggreklestari.❤️
I never missed Foodies Bee Hive in my posts, or I don't understand right?
You also make amazing recipes and your photos are just beautiful!
There are still a few days left until the end of the month in our #biss contest, if you would like to join.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thanks for the support!

You really take great food photos. Everything feels so enticing. Nice job.

Thank you @cliffagreen! Your kind words means a lot to me.

Delish entry as always my friend, so glad you made a BISS and such a beautiful one at that! I looove Hokkaido pumpkin, the patties sound so full of flavour, well deserved rewards!

Thanks @lizelle! Yours was also "looking" great! 😂
I really like the idea!

I appreciate the effort in cooking, but let's just talk about the quality of the pictures for one second. Very freaking nice!

That's so nice of you to say, it really encourages me!
Lately I'm trying to put some effort into photography as well and not just cooking. For now I'm still doing it with a smatphone, but I think I'm going to buy a real camera soon.

Keep them going, I might steal your some recipes and ask my wife to try it. I ain't gonna lie she does it better than I do.

That's really nice, I hope you will like them.

I'm a huge fan of Ajvar... I love your recipe, looks great!

Me too! Every year I make loads of it and we always run out before the new season.
This year I already planted 50 of red paprika plants and a few days ago I planted more, just in case.🙃😋

I'm more of an eater. Scatch that I'm an eater who passes recipes like this to my 5-star wife of a chef followed by "I'm hungry."

I agree with @edprivat on your images, gorgeous food photography you got goin here, I didn't try to eat my phone or anything. The third one up from the bottom, three images are collage'd together, what program allows you that fancy multiple-colored frame?

Thanks, Ed!

Wife always cooks the best, as she includes loads feminine of love in her recipes!

Thank you for your kind words, it really means a lot to me. I'm still looking for directions on how making better photography, but I'm me really grateful people noticing an improvement.

I use Polish on my phone, it's a free application and very easy to use.
You can place one of the photos, that you use in the collage, in the background. I think it makes it more attractive to the eyes than a one color frame, that is not the same color as the photos in the collage.

Thanks for reading my post, Sandra.

You are without a doubt hands-down the sandwich master of Hive. I want this on my table ASAP, looks so good, and I can tell when something is made with lots of love. This one is a winner!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you for generous words @justinparke. 💚