You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shapeshift Pulling out of Washington State Due to New Regulations

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I don't think Washington is representative of the entire US. It definitely is not alone with it's aggressive stance on cryptos, but there are a few states that are actually friendly to crypto (tho the number is significantly smaller in comparison) and a healthy amount that I think are sitting on the sidelines on the issue and staying neutral for now. I don't think it'll stay that way for too long. I just hope more states take up the same stance that Nevada did.

https://www.coindesk.com/nevada-opens-doors-blockchain-startups/

This is pretty significant. No taxes or fees can be assessed against a company that receives blockchain based currency as compensation by a city or county? Crazy stuff.

I watched the maturation of the internet from it's infancy, and seeing a second disruptive technology (I'd argue moreso than the internet even, though you couldn't have the second without the first) enter the market and begin to stick it to the financial oligarchy we've suffered the last 100 years is definitely refreshing! Amazing time to be alive!

Sort:  

Great comment, it is good to remember that there are some governments trying to embrace the technology. Extremely smart on their part and it's going to pay big dividends.

I feel overall though the federal government and most states are not taking that position, which is why for me our state is like a microcosm of the current majority opinion and approach to cryptos. From my perspective, I just get a real sense of hostility, ignorance and fear from those in power which results in legislation that is nonsensical and a clear push to control and choke rather than embrace and invite.

It is definitely cool to be able to experience yet another truly disruptive technology once again in our lifetime. Fun times indeed :)