What will happen to Bitcoin on the 1st of August?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

meme2.jpg

To make a large and complex story short, what you need to know is that Bitcoin Core Team is promoting an upgrade called BIP-148. Bitcoin Improvement Proposal (BIP) 148 is a User Activated Soft Fork (UASF) that requires that miners signal for Segregated Witness (SegWit) before the 1st of August, after that date all BIP-148 nodes will start rejecting all blocks that do not support the protocol.

However, there is another large group of Bitcoin users and Miners that feel that Segwit alone is insufficient and it will not solve the scaling issues bitcoin is facing today (full blocks and high fees). This group, lead by entrepreneur Roger Ver and Bitcoin Miners like Jihan Wu (yes the guy of the F*ck your mother tweet ) , wants to implement SEGWITX2, which is basically segwit and an increase in block size from 1MB to 2MB.

All of this may sound kind of silly to you, it certainly does to me as I believe both options will solve the scaling issues we are facing today. However, this fight could end up in a “Chain Split” that will result in two different tokens. This happened to Ethereum last year and Ethereum Classic was born.

So what will happen to my Bitcoins?

Well this depends on what wallet provider you are using. If you are using an online provider that stores your private keys, then you need to wait and see which chain they will support or if they allow you to keep both Bitcoin tokens.

In the other hand, if you DO control your keys (Bitcoin Core, Electrum, etc) you will have the same balance on both chains and you will be able to keep them or trade one for the other once exchanges start accepting them both.

If you are uncertain about what will happen to bitcoin’s price you could always hedge your funds against a stable currency like SBD or BitUSD.


Sources:

Sort:  

That is why I wouldn't store any of your bitcoins in coinbase. Just in case the split does happen you will be S.O.L.

You're right about the consequences, but the conflict is more complicated. For weird historical reasons, neither side is promoting what it really wants. Almost all Bitcoin Core developers support SegWit, but the BIP148 UASF promoted by Luke Dashjr is too radical for about half of them. It's a break with their tradition of consensus and resistance to change. And the change in the proof of work he's considering to defend it against a response by the miners is even more controversial.

On the other side, Roger Ver and Jihan Wu would prefer to have a hard fork allowing big blocks without SegWit. But for the time being, they have accepted the compromise called the New York Agreement or SegWit2x organised by investor Barry Silbert, with Jeff Garzik as lead developer.

It looks like SegWit2x will be implemented just in time, but things could get weird if it's too late or one party defects - even a minor player like F2Pool.

Thank you for the added details!

So can u tell me If they will separate what will happen to altcoins like steemit? I've been hearing about this fork and this made me a little bit wiser but I'm really wondering what that will mean for altcoins.

Nothing will happen, its a different blockchain.

However, if Bitcoin price tanks it will for sure tank most of other cryptocurrencies too. This is why I recommend hedging against smartcoins that have a fixed value like SBD (1 dollar worth of steem) and BitUSD (one dollar worth of BTS).

Thanks for your answer. I know It's a different blockchain but the 2nd part u answered was my actual question. Thnx

JihanWu Jihan Wu tweeted @ 15 May 2016 - 17:42 UTC

@MrHodl fuck your mother if you want fuck.

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

haha EPIC Tweet!

Thanks for this, it always makes me laugh!.. never gets old LOL

Thanks for posting!

That's the lazy meme, this is the original XD upvoted!

hehe, I made a different one as this one kind of takes sides.

I know what will happen to bitcoin after the segwit... One will fly... The other will crawle :)

i can't believe people are fighting over a forking , lol

Nice post.. i don't have bitcoin in my portfolio but will keep an eye on things as they unfold

I think that the answer to all the questions is: HODL :)

You sir just got upvoted and followed,thanks for dropping that knowledge ^_^

I think fear will make some people panic sell then It will moon as all the people flock for cheap coins. Interesting times ahead good luck to us all.

Nice post. I don't have that much knowledge about bitcoin before reading this.

I think I will move my BTC into Steem...then think about moving it back out later....or just let it ride :)

Its an option, although I would consider moving it to SBD as it has a 1 dollar floor (kind of)

nice post and good information ,,, you have good blog , Good luck. Comrade

so in other words its possibly double the BTC. I was reading up those tweets of the link you provided. Just watching the tweets in disbelief.

However, this fight could end up in a “Chain Split” that will result in two different tokens. This happened to Ethereum last year and Ethereum Classic was born.

Yes, very likely, although I doubt that both coins will retain current BTC value.

Great post!
Resteemed this is pure gold, thanks for sharing!
Im following you !

nice post, good information. i am follow & upvote you :)

Just tell me which one to buy so I can have $14,000 per coin in 2018.

I wish , price goes down to few dollars so that I can buy !!!!!!!!!

One of the better summaries - concise - got all the main points.

The sign of a good writer.

Consider yourself followed and upvoted

STEEM On!!

Dave

So what happens to bitcoins in cold storage (Ledger Nano or Trezor)? Same story as Bitcoin Core and Electrum?

Now I understand why iota blocklessness makes more sense

You think BTC price will go up or down?

down, and then maybe up.

How much down?, so we should trade our bitcoins?... Are the steem dollars that stable?, i always thought BTC where more stable...

The only bitcoin I have is in bitconnect. Is there any chance at all there will still remain one currency after the 1st? Or is the split guaranteed?

What I see here is panic to drop the bitcoin price so whales can swallow a big chunk.

Hey chitty,

Thanks for sharing what you know on the potential split, your work is appreciated.

I've added my thoughts around market psychology heading into SegWit here which is a good suppliment from a technical analysis point of view.

I just really can't see anything too crazy happening come August 1. This is so well known and therefore priced in, that even a 'negative' result could cause price to rally!

good job Post inspiration ... good luck...upvote me..

Take advantage of our Free Cryptocurrency Pumps and Signals and earn up to x5 of your Bitcoin weekly in trading.
http://t.me/joinchat/AAAAAEGzAMW7ub3idpC5qw
https://t.me/coalitionpumps