Quit My Job Yesterday - My Honest Journey In Cryptocurrency - The highs, The lows.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Plot ruiner: I made enough to quit my job and as of today I am setting up a limited company to provide cryptocurrency advice. Also setting up an online cryptocurrency university with a friend who is an investor if anyone wants to join me in this journey then please comment. Apologies. My grammar is as volatile as the crypto markets

Beginning research

So I started this journey two months ago, I started by researching the lowest cost coins because I knew that by human nature newbies like myself would also do so in hope of the Bitcoin dream right?

The stupid era

So, some coins I love and still hold, some I do not. My first purchase was 50XRP on Kraken (possibly the most unreliable exchange I have used). I quickly sold everything on Kraken, although whilst writing this I may go back and check I don't have anything that is worth money. So ok, I should of brought as much of Ripple as I could of at the time but I did go back to it at the right time as I will return to writing about.

I moved onto Coinbase who seemed to be more reliable (although a low bar in my opinion). I was actually wrong to start so low because the fees on Coinbase started to eat up anything I could make with £250. So I purchased £250 worth of ETH for the first time and it felt great although it was on my 0% credit card which lowered the good feeling but YOLO right. I transferred it over into Bitfinex and brought more Ripple whilst trying to figure out how to use Bitfinex. Bitfinex is actually pretty great for serious traders. My favourite thing about Bitfinex is the trailing stop which follows the current price by a margin you decide and sells if it falls below that difference. So it will follow BTC up to $20,000 for example but sell if it corrects more than $1000.

Accumulation era

I made a little bit on XRP which was floating around 0.2 -0.3 at the time. I started to regularly build up positions from there on. I brought the following ADA, XRP, NEO. I spent £1800 over the next month putting more money into the coins that showed continued growth. Like a reward for them haha. I got so addicted to crypto, doing it at work, at night and in my sleep.

Smart moves and a little luck

A month in I woke up and started my obsessive search and found the IOTA Microsoft partnership announcement which was two days in causing the price had increased but not much so I pooled all my resources into IOTA and quadrupled my money overnight. Things were starting to get serious, so I sold my IOTA at ATH and brought some more when it dropped. I waited for it to rise to current levels in a few days. Side note, IOTA has stayed stale since them, I think they may be ready for another run. A week had passed since IOTA made me decent money and I went back to my favourite one XRP...

All in XRP

I purchased around 10,000 XRP at the time it plummeted to about 0.17 (I love when people panic) also the time I got wind of the rumours on XRP chat which are still circulating now in fact. XRP rocketed and I sold at the ATH knowing it would drop again. I decided to split my portfolio after that. I split it into BitShares which I still love, ADA, MANA and some Btyecoin because I love underdogs. They all started to rise and I mainly sold ADA at the time because it is unproven and I know people still have no idea where to price it. I sold ADA at an ATH to buy some...yeah more XRP on the big dip. I edged towards 15,500 XRP which was a good call.

XRP started to become a train because... well it's solving the biggest problem this world has (I'm sure there is other problems that are far greater but I love business). Slow expensive transfers. I rode the XRP wave until late December when BTC started to tank and XRP was down but holding strong. So I sold 5000 XRP for .45 ish Bitcoin. I also sold another 1000 XRP to buy XVG when it dipped after the McAfee pump which made me £800 profit of which I put into TRON haha. Brought 30,000 TRX at £0.03 ish. I have played the game well. The next day pretty much Tron wen't to the moon and I doubled my money and some. Ended up with £2500 from around £900 worth of XRP.

We are very close on the Timeline to today. I cashed out that money from Tron although I still like Tron I don't get what it does yet and that is worrying for me. My current portfolio:

1900 BTS
4323 MANA and some land!
70/30 Split between XRP and BTC

The markets have tumbled today but I made my years wage overall. I use UpHold to withdraw straight to my bank account which has been really easy. In fact they now accept debit / credit cards for buying coins. If people like this I will continue to document my journey included setting up a company to advise on cryptocurrency. My previous is software development and design.

Using Bitcoin to pay the bills

A close friend knows a person at USI Tech and also has $100k in it Here is a link. Don't listen to fake news about them. People don't like other people making too much money. who pay 1% of your BTC back per working day. They previously used trading algorithms but have since moved into buying mining equipment and give back BTC to the users. They have seen tremendous growth and lots of fake news but I have made the 1% - 0.8% per working day and also withdrawn around £250 on separate occasions.

The best thing to do is compound on their system where you can almost triple your BTC holding if you re buy the packages which are fixed at £45. I would seriously encourage anyone to just edge in some money and see what happens. I can personally vouch that the exist and also that the system works. I am going to be increasing my holdings to receive roughly £150 per working day.

**

** None of this is investment advice, only trade what you are willing to loose. I payed off what I put in and I am using my profits.

Sort:  

Oh, I like this. Following you. Well done for quitting your job (and kudos to your wife for supporting that). Welcome :)

Thank you, I have actually liked getting everyones feedback. I'm not a great writer but I am going to try to write more.

Hello, I saw your reply on my Blog that led me here :) I had a very similar journey to yours, My only investment was 3,000 USD on Kraken all spent on XRP, bought at 16 cents at the time, since then I started branching out just like what you did, making high and lows, long story short I ended up making good gains even though I did not cash out one penny since then, I am a big fan of Mana and Bitshares. I have two lands in Decentraland, one I bought in the Terraform event in AETHERIAN project and another I won in a bid in Genesis City but it was painful :) I wish you the best in your blog. Peace :)

Thanks @phuzz I think Bitshares to this day is still undervalued for the sheer amount of things it can do. I actually have started a bit of design work on a trading bot for them.

I just checked again and I was outbid, i'll try the next auction perhaps. I still have a parcel in vega city.

Wow nice, a trading bot would really come in handy :) As for Decenetraland, Keep an eye on the next auction, I advice you bid on a couple of different lands at 1,000 MANA each, some people were able to get a land in Genesis City for 1,000 MANA, I got mine at 14,000 because I waited until the end. Good luck

Welcome. Nice to here the story of how you got in and the steps you took to build a portfolio. Quitting the day job is a dream for many. Keep pushing in the direction which brings you the most value. Good luck with the university. Keep me updated please on how it goes.

Yes I will keep you posted!

I also quited my job but I am 55!

It's the biggest choice I have ever made, but having said that every time I leave a position I end up better off so I'm excited to see what the future holds.

Amazing story! You can always find a new job later on...i'm checking the site you shared. Is there a minimun investment?

I think it is £45 roughly. It self adjusts the package price, I started by doing a test for that amount. Glad you like the story. I will be putting some more ramblings on here about my current strategy mainly so someone can tell me I am not completely mad.

Ok that would be awesome. i once invested in a company called ethtrade.org that turned to be a scam. Luckily I got out with profits, but I know people who lost their funds. A reliable source like you might definitively be helpful.

I think also sadly one single entity can always get greedy and turn the business into a scam. I keep it smart. I have a lot of Bitcoin in their system however I compound 30% (reinvest) and withdraw 70% each month meaning in 6 months or so I would at least have 50% or more of my input back. This will always reduce the pain if they are a scam. I have been in it a month and a half as of now. If they was a complete scam I would of expected them to crash and burn a few years ago. I would also logically expect more articles saying they are a scam. There are a few but from past failings, I have checked out their mining pool and a friend knows someone who works there.

Nice Blog, wish you loads of success.

Thanks buddy :)

Nice ride! and cashing out from time to time is super important, if it's to fiat or just buying stuff with crypto.

Like with any investment, you haven't made a profit, until you actually sold :)

Very true, I would prefer to actually use it but fiat will do. My mortgage does not accept BTC or XRP yet so until then.

Good stuff! Feel free to reach out to me on discord, telegram, or steemet.chat as virtualgrowth and maybe I could help with part of your idea, vision, mission.

HAVE TO SAY
you sound like a complete beginner, and what kind of job did you quit?

keep in mind most people today in crypto are software engineers, so get your skills together and study the tech, and do the tech yourself, not on Kraken

I am a beginner but I learn fast and always have done and my knowledge already acquired is far more than someone who is looking to get into crypto and isn't a techie. I used Kraken for about 1 week and found out quickly it was rubbish. I used to design and develop websites and apps mostly in Angular 2, I have about 7 years experience in web development overall.

I had to cash a decent enough amount to convince my wife :)

Haha show the money you made and hide the losses under the carpet.

Yes, I cashed in the Tron profits as a float to quit my job. I used UpHold who I am not tied to or antyhing. It was completed within 3 working days and they sent me updates along the way.