You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BTCUSD - Technical Analysis November 4, 2017 - Current price $7173

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

I got into XIV when it was $16 a couple of winters ago and sold at $22. I think it’s trading around $80 right now? Makes me want to kick myself. It’s a good one. It benefits from contract rollover decay of its inverse like 90% of the time. When VIX is in Contango XIV is a winner.

Sort:  

the XIV parabolic move is an anomaly - this is the lowest historical volatility in the stock market since 07 - difference now is that in 2014 the index became completely derived from options bets on the S&P mini futures - so its hard to say if thats part of why this run is occurring ... but as you know 1 decent spike in volatility can wreck XIV.

Yes it is a bit of an anomaly and I think the markets are somewhat rigged and have been for the past several years at least...rigged in favor of the bull. My trading experience is less than a decade old so the current environment is the only one I've ever really known. I've met a lot of people on ihub (used to hang out there a lot, not so much anymore) who have been around a long time saying that it didn't used to be like this--things used to be easier to predict and market moves made a bit more sense than they do now. I think some of it has to do with algos but I also think the govt has had a hand in it as well.

Lately it seems like the market just has to close to the upside no matter what, meanwhile we have things like netflix with a PE of 300 -- 300 years to double your money. Something has to give.

further, on the flipside, when nixon was president as soon as any inkling of an impeachment motion hit, stocks entered a 1 year bear market -- perhaps we may observe something similar, all things considered.