The Crypto Bloodbath Continues, What to Do Now

in #bitcoin6 years ago

What a rough first quarter of 2018 for cryptocurrencies.

Over a half trillion of value… poof, gone. And it hasn’t helped the SEC has been launching inquiries and investigations all month.

So is it time to throw in the towel? I’ll let you know what I’m doing below.

The last time cryptos saw a bloodbath this bad was back in 2014 after the Mt. Gox hack. Really is mostly just bitcoin. At it’s peak bitcoin’s market cap topped $12 billion. Then it fell to under $3 billion. It took over a year and a half before the crypto market rallied again.

I don’t think the crypto market is dead. And I don’t think it’ll take as long to turn around this time either.

At this point much of the excess is out of the market. Sentiment is at an extreme low. Sure we can still go lower. But I think the upside potential outweighs the downside potential at this point.

It’s good to look past the price movements and the regulatory fears. There’s still a lot of positive things going on underneath the surface.

Things like Circle buying Poloniex for $400 million. Plus the South Korean investment group that bought Bitstamp for $400 million as well. You don’t spend that kind of money if you think crypto is about to die.

And of course Coinbase has been making major news with its index, Barclay’s account, and support for ERC20 tokens. Plus, Coinbase Custody is on the way. That’s big because institutions will be able to buy cryptos if there’s proper custody in place. That could mean billions flow into the space.

There’s other positives too. I read the CBOE wrote a letter to the SEC urging them to support a bitcoin ETF. That would be big too.

There’s also Coinfloor in the UK which said it’s going to launch the first bitcoin futures contract that’s actually settled in bitcoin. Gold and silver bugs will know why that’s important.

Anyways, lots of positives even in such a negative market. And I don’t see any of the good projects throwing in the towel.

I’m a hodler like George.


For more on cryptos follow me @g-dubs and on SteemFollower

Use my referral link to buy Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin at Coinbase
and trade cryptos on Binance

Sort:  

Yea, I first invested in BTC right before MT Gox 2. I "bought the dip" at $800 and watched it drop to under $200, but I held on. This does feel similar, so I guess I have no choice but to hold on again. I do think that it will recover a lot faster this time though...maybe a few months.

That's funny I bought that dip too. I just 'forgot' about btc for two years and then it was all good.

HODL, there will be a rally its a matter of when. personally I am waiting for it. Not holding my breath though.

Lol, I'm not holding my breath either. Likely more pain is needed first.

On yea, bitcoin was os overvalued in December.

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 6900+ Followers — just send 0.05 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also got a chance of receive a random upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + the chance of daily upvotes!

For more infos read our Vision & Rules and also get you your free Resteem!

The first thing to understand when doing hodl is that you are not the only one, there are a lot of people who also like us are waiting with their BTC in their pocket and they will not let it die because they understand that there is a fundamental value in its existence that does not lie in its price, but lies in freedom.

I'm not going to lie, since I joined the market I've only made money, even with today's depressed prices I'm winning for what I invested, however, I'm in hodl and will remain in hodl even if my numbers turn red.

That makes you, me and George ;-p

Very informative, thanks for sharing. I've smashed the upvote button for you!

If you are looking to get hold of some crypto without investing or mining, look into https://www.crowdholding.com. They are a co-creation platform were you get rewarded for giving feedback to crypto startups on the platform. You can earn Crowdholding's token as well as DeepOnion, ITT, Smartcash and many other ERC-20 tokens.

I am wondering why some people are afraid of regulation. And for bitcoin at $1000 that's bad.

Bitcoin & #Ethereum prices are both in a freefall as the #bloodbath continues. Bitcoin, which is now below $7K, was trading around $18K in early January. This is a not-so-good Friday for #crypto investors. But every #bubble has to burst to achieve long-term prosperity. $BTC $ETH

Just holding sir this is worst quater.

You got a 2.00% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @g-dubs!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I completely agree. Followed and upvoted. Here's my take on the recent bubble https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@crypticat/what-s-happening-meow-crypto-bubble-bursts at least you are pushing conspiracy theories 😺

I'm a hodler too. Moreover, I've been buying BTC on dips, so I'm hoping it'll pay off long run. Fingers crossed. I agree that people with money wouldn't be buying exchanges and Jack Dorsey from Twitter wouldn't be investing in it if they all thought it's dead or dying.

amazing content sir exactly btc gonna test 3k.should wait and see what will happen.

I agree. I think this pull back was definitely do, and could certainly go a lot longer. I don't think it will be as long as the last one though, to much happening in the space now and the ball is rolling down hill and getting bigger and faster.

I think we still have some bumps in the road, but it's gonna get smoother and smoother, and soon there's going to be an "ah ha" moment in culture, like @aantonop says, where people finally get that their money has been "fake money" all along, just like they finally got that their news has been "fake news"

At that point, it's game over for fiat.

i also believe bitcoin never die. because it's equal to gold. both are limited and sometimes both prices reduce and again increase. so i beleive it's our future.

Yeah i agree with you, i am going to hold,
I’m a hodler @g-dubs

yes it gonna continue for two months atleast.

As I always said, rise and falls are part of life, steem it decreasing day by day, but there is also a hope for quick rise you, investors are waiting to invest, when they will invest, it will rise in no time :)

just hold on guys,you are gonna have great days infront of you.cheer.

lol;
great one