I Smoked a Million Dollar Joint...and it wasn't even that great :(

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I Smoked a Million Dollar Joint...and it wasn't even that great :(

Okay so right off the bat I'll admit I may be a little loose with my math here. It may actually have been a $937,000 joint, however million makes for a much catchier title. So let me explain. 


This past Friday night I went to a bbq hosted by a friend of a friend. This guy is a huge weed connoisseur. He typically has dozens of mason jars with various strains which he categories by Indica vs Sativa vs Hybrids. He prints out nice little images and bios for each strain about the effects, pros and cons, etc. It's like visiting a dispensery going to this guys house. He carefully categorizes everything by the date either acquired or grown, etc. 

 This guy is also a big computer and tech guy. He's been into Bitcoin since prior to 2010, boy do I wish he had mentioned it to me back then at 0.08 cents or whatever it was at the time. He also used to be pretty into the deep web which is where a lot of his collection came from. 

Anyhow, at the bbq another friend and his wife announced they were pregnant so to celebrate we poured a couple shots of Don Julio and a friend twisted up a nice spliff. The strain was Lambs Bread a Jamaican Sativa strain and the jar said 2010. The guy mentioned he acquired it off the deepweb. Now I don't recall when the Silk Road was created so not sure if he got it from there or just from a friend on some message board or something along those lines but either way he paid Bitcoins for it. 

Anyhow, we were sitting around kind of joking about how much in today's money that jar would be worth. Assuming he paid about $60 for an eigth, and the spliff had to be about half of that we'll say $30 in 2010 Dollars. Now if we look at the Bitcoin price of about $0.08 cents around that time, that's about 375 Bitcoins. Now if we go off the recent high of $3,000 just to work with nice round numbers here that means that joint in today's money cost $1,125,000. 

Obviously this post is just supposed to be kind of interesting and funny. I honestly wouldn't expect some 7 year old herb to be that fresh and tasy and in the grand scheme of things we can't really look at prices as if's and but's as he probably wouldn't have held those Bitcoins to $3,000 anyways. 

On a total side note this guy who was pretty heavy into Bitcoins back in the early days pretty much sold all his holdings and lost interest back at about $600 back in 2013 or 2014 or whenever that was. 

I know there's a lot of fun stories about people paying millions of Dollars for a pizza or hundreds of thousands for a New Egg gift card so I thought this was kind of a funny one involving some deep web bud. 

While these Bitcoins were used for a different type of product, I found this to be another funny one 26.03 Bitcoins for a $115 New Egg Gift Card. 

What's some of the other crazy stories you've heard of Bitcoins being used to buy stuff with Bitcoins back when they were nothing? 

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@rulesforrebels/i-smoked-a-million-dollar-joint-and-it-wasn-t-even-that-great

Came here after watching your youtube video :)