You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Thailand and yes soon the Direct to Vendor donating will be back at it:

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Yeah... we haven’t gone on any big vacations in years unless it’s a road trip to visit family. Luckily I have no debt and take the bus/train everywhere I go. The party will eventually come to an end and all that debt will crush many.

Sort:  

You are one of the smart ones. I see it with so many people and it's amazing. Know people making $100k plus for their household yet they don't have $4k in the bank when an emergency comes up. Seriously how can you not have 4% of your yearly income as a reserve when you make that kind of money. I get it if you are making just enough to get by, but when you are making good money you should be saving some of it each month.

Hope that it's clear that when I'm saying "you" I'm not talking about you directly, just generalizing. Just looked back and realized that my comment could of sounded like I made assumptions about you.

No. It’s ok. My wife and I have been saving for a very long time .... long enpugh for her to retire at 40 and stay home with the kids and now able to make art for enjoyment. We are gradually moving into crypto and hope to downsize and travel more. It has been a getting rich slowly plan... but yes we paid off all Debt many years ago.

Think we have the same mindset. My Wife has been home with the kids since she was 35 and this last year so she could be with the kids. Once we knocked down the debt and stopped trying to "keep up the the Jones" it's amazing how much less money is needed each month.

I have a 2 year goal that will semi retire me too, if it happens I will be traveling the world. I'd like to take 2-5 years and just travel, but my Wife doesn't see herself as a nomad type and wants to come home after each trip and take time to plan the next one. I'm much more willing to just go with the flow and she is the planner. We will see how it all works out, but either way I want to see the world before I get to old to enjoy it.

It's amazing when you sit down and calculate the Cost of going to work. If one parent can stay home with the kids you can save a small fortune. We got down to one car that we only use for weekend road trips, no commuting costs, less insurance, less work cloths, less restaurants, no daycare, no holiday camps, no summer camps, etc etc etc ... it takes an entire job just to pay for all these people to watch your kids.