UNTOLD Story of Dr. Sahar Javed Chawla

in #bitcoin6 years ago

"My name is Dr. Sahar Javed Chawla, Assistant Professor Biochemistry at CMH Lahore Medical and Dental College. Many of you recognize me by the power of my walk and the strength in my voice. I am the star of my personal show that many call life. On 19th June 2012 I decided that people will not tell me who I am, I would tell people who I was. My story may invoke pity but to all of you reading I wish to give you hope along with a healthy dose of caution.
I was seven. I was sexually abused by my Qaari Sahab. My parents silenced me. The abuse did not end here. After being rid of my Qaari Sahab, there began a series of seven years of abuse by a close relative. These seven years were accompanied by twelve years of harrowing nightmares, I am sure you don’t need me to elaborate. My parents being the Pakistani family they were, chose to let it go. I don’t blame them anymore, I blame our society.
My experiences made me focused. I took admission in BDS in the esteemed Army Medical College. What followed were the good days. I made friends and formed bonds that lasted me a lifetime. They were darkened by the findings of my parent’s separation. I fell in love during my college days as many of us do. I was fed promised of marriage and a happily ever after. I decided to court marry and the day of the court marriage, he vanished. I was heartbroken
In my despondency I agreed to the marry the man my mother selected for me. Taking no initiative to get to know the man I was going to get married. The man did not want me, he once loved a girl named Sahar and I was not her. He gave me the option to leave, I decided to take the challenge and did all I could to make him love me. He beat me. Hid away my phone. This went on for seven months. Sneaking my phone, I called my parents who thankfully came and took me away. I was bruised and scars but since then those have faded. I had a nervous breakdown.
I lost my job. Woke up. Fell back into the arms of my college beau. He promised to marry me just needed some financial assistance. This part will sound like a cliché, he asked for my jewelry, I gave it. He vanished again on the date we set to marry. I then attempted suicide and ended up in the ICU of CMH Lahore Hospital.
On June 19th, 2012 I woke up one day and took control of my life. I decided that the world would be my runway and I would be the show stopper. I did my M Phil in Biochemistry and started teaching and now I am currently enrolled in PHD doing my final research.
From deathbed to designation it’s been a tough journey. I am thankful to my parents, friends who stood by me. And my students for giving me hope. Yes, I did give up at one point, yes, I became bitter, yes, I stopped believing in true feeling. But there are wonderful people in this world who taught me to believe in love and friendship again. Everyone has been blessed by a wonderful life by Allah, it’s just up to us to find the happiness in it.
Remember the show must go on."

  • Dr. Sahar Javed Chawla, CMH Lahore Medical College