Bitcoin is getting scarily close to $3K again. WILL IT MAKE IT THIS TIME?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

$3K Bitcoin Coming Soon?


Introduction


Screenshot 2017-06-11 17.54.31.png

Bitcoin almost seemed to reach the 3 thousand dollar mark a few weeks ago but then pulled back and made a significant correction. Could it be happening for real this time?

ThinkstockPhotos-612022268 (1).jpg

Could we be celebrating a $3K bitcoin soon.

Personally I think there is a strong possibility it will do it - if not today then sometime this week.

Obviously I can't be sure and I have said before that I can't read charts or do technical analysis.

I am thinking more about the rising awareness of bitcoin in particular I have seen from non-crypto people. Whether it is people asking questions or calling it a scam - it all seems to show a positive rise in the consciousness of non-technical people.

Every time we break another big boundary bitcoin inevitably gets another boost in the mainstream consciousness and more of the previously skeptical "old money" and skeptical heads start taking notice.

I personally love to see the smile wiped off the banksters and naysayers faces every time another boundary is broken. It is almost like you can see them thinking "Oh S*** - I missed out".

The more that happens, the closer we get to taking cryptocurrencies in general mainstream.

As new money comes into Bitcoin - that increases the potential pot of capital that can go into altcoins like Steem too.

What do you think? Will it happen? Will it pull back again?


Thank you for reading


ThinkstockPhotos-122517374.jpg




Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me Steemit & Twitter.

All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

It is pretty unbelievable how high this surge is taking Bitcoin and Etherium.
I also like that all the "experts" who predicted Bitcoin's demise are probably kicking around in the sand pissed off. Muahhahahhaha

Took the plunge and converted some of my BTC into ETH recently. Not sure if it's too late, but hedging my bets!

They will still say that it is going to face demise, despite the rise. In a way, there is nothing wrong with that, because a little skepticism does not hurt. It is when the skepticism shows ignorance instead of a rational argument that it becomes an aggravating distraction.

I am invested in Bitcoin because (despite the current issues) I see a future in it. I have not read a strong argument to be a bear yet. I continue to look.

I like that. Continuing to look for a reason to be a bear is a good strategy.

That is the best part. I bet some of them are rushing to quietly buy some.

It is like their secret pleasure. Having a secret crypto stash. LOL

my replies' late so I can say hell yeah ^ ^

I think BTC has a good change to cross the 3k mark. Looking at Polo, only 500BTC to go in open sell contracts + all the sellers that are not listed to go. But I've seen that not as a big resistance at some much small coins than BTC. It is a very psychological mark though. The weekend was again good for BTC, for a lot of Alts a little less good. Wondering what the weekdays will bring again where I suspect more fiat traders may come in with their fiat money. But maybe they also decide to pull out. Time will tell, but the short term cards for 3K mark look good.

I think it might have already crossed the 3K mark on some of the exchanges. The average is still below though.

Euhmm, Now pulled and still pulling back quite a bit

Yep, looks like a bit of a correction!

I agree:)

As people lose faith in the currant system what is the alternative Crypto . I am sure Bitcoin will make $3K a coin now look like pocket change in the not to distant future

I agree - particularly when you look at failing states like Venezuela - bitcoin and other cryptos are the only option that is left. With more instability in the world that is only going to get worse and bitcoin etc are going to get more and more use.

Funny thing is that everyone compares the Bitcoin price in US Federal Reserve Notes. In the future we will be quoting in Satoshi....

Interesting though i have not thought of that . The reason why it is compared to the USD is because it is the world reserve currency . When and if the USD is dethroned everything will be compared to the new world reserve currency.

I believe it will cime to pass this price tag and when it does there's no going back cryptocurrency market will gain upto 20% in market capitalization (around $21 billion) this will boost top 20 crypto currencies dramatically.

Steem will benefit too an might go for as high as $1.5 billion in market capitalization or $7.5 per Steem.

It certainly could happen!

BTC climbing Mount Everest, one step at a time. :) Everytime it climbs to new high people go frenzy about it. I think it will go much higher than 3k, corrections are natural.

Exactly and I think if it hits 3K then 4K will be a lot easier psychologically than 2K was.

As soon as it got to 1k it's permanent bullish was sealed. Only thing that worries me is the bubble that might happen. Then not only bitcoin but all cryptos will lose value on a grand scale.

I think there will be a lot of corrections along the way, but I can't see BTC going away any time soon. It has too much utility.

Yes that has been my concern too. I don't think we can be 100% certain either way. All I know is that long term the future is in cryptos.

Imagine the blockchain in 10 years. It will be full of people. It's popularity will boost like 400.000% and by that I mean more professionals, programmers, creative people, artists, common people above all, all kinds of traders. Currently, blockchain is like what California was before the gold rush.

Before the gold rush? Or at the beginning of its broader publicity and swell of gold-hungry miners swarming into the wilderness and wading into rivers they don't fully understand? If the later, how many digital 49'ers will get swindled? How many ghost towns might be left in the wake?

Using this metaphor, it used to take specialized knowledge and tools to tap into the blockchain - command lines, servers, hashes, etc. This would be akin to the first stray miners panning for gold.

Now we've seemed to hit the phase where there is supportive infrastructure. There are people profiting on selling the pick axes, backpacks and supplies. Its almost as if Coinbase and other user-friendly entry points are positioning themselves as the Wells Fargo of the blockchain. Industries profiting off selling the pickaxes, regardless whether the fool finds their gold or not.

And if this is akin to the gold rush with an extra helping of Venture Capital greed, then the fact that it can generate so much wealth, so quickly, makes me wonder how much faster that wealth may dry up with a lot of city slickers holding now useless pickaxes.

Now, despite the doom and gloom written above, I'm optimistic about the entire space. However, I think its worth tempering that optimism with some reality, especially when bringing out the Gold Rush metaphor.

I'm from Europe. Don't mind my low knowledge about everything that happened in the West America during the Gold Rush. I'm using it as a metaphor because after the Gold Rush, California prospered in other ways. Gold Rush is in this case - blockchain going mainstream and let's get that California smaller to Los Angeles. Yes, some cryptos will die during it, some will rise, but eventually many will settle in comfortable climate of the mainstream blockchain. Thanks for your response @somethingsubtle

The higher price will inevitably get more interest so if it does fall a lot of people will suddenly say ok cool got an opportunity to jump in, so price wouldnt fall for long.

Perhaps but people are often illogical and tend to buy when the price is going up instead of on dips.

I'm still not 100% sure about it as its all so different too what I am used too :)

3k bitcoin?
You will get richer.

I think we will all get richer.

yah, but my wallet still empty.
I do not get many votes for every post

@zerometal Here, have a few upvotes on your comments and latest post :)

If it breaks 3,000 it will go to 5,000......

Last night on Spain Sexta here in Spain they had a 1 hour program on how Bitcoin was ONLY used by drug dealers, etc. Do you seeeee how they are going to try to stop this???

Link:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@watchout2017/please-watch-this-link-live-right-now-en-la-sexta-spain-they-are-going-to-criminalize-bitcoin

@watchout2017

They have been trying to smear it that way all over the world for quite some time. It is not something new.

This time you might have a bigger fight on your hands. Please read:

https://steemit.com/money/@watchout2017/exposed-the-secret-scams-of-coinbase-bittrex-kraken-and-btc-e

Read some other of my content because we are ready to go though the largest drop in history-

I have a feeling that tomorrow will be a black Friday. move your Bitcoin to Ether until it stabilizes.

@watchout2017

Domi
upvote/follow

Interesting I will check it out!

thecryptofiend,

My user name on all myu exchanges is: cryptolight

Hey, if you have Bitcoin I would transfer to Ether because I think this is going to be a Black Friday for bith stocks/crypto.

Also:

@watchout2017

Domi
upvote

I would be more concerned about the Russian government getting in on Ethereum. The thing is we don't really know for sure what happens behind closed doors.

Just think about how the Gov pushes and heards us: with money!!! They want a digital currency, but I asure you it wont be Bitcoin. They are wayyyyyy behind in blockchain tech. Even Litecoin has better tech than Bitcoin.

They are forming their one World Currency, which will enter the NOTB.

https://www.youtube.com/user/TheJonathankleck/videos

DOmi

And it did it :3 also it's fun to see the exchange rates between ethereum and USD tether!

Did it? I missed it.

It has on some of the exchanges.

Yes I heard. Seems to have dipped again though.

Bitcoin to $3000 please and steem to 100,000 Satoshi!

Amen to that:)

off course it will

I grabbed a bunch of SC, DGB and burst. Guessing once it hits 3k maybe a little after there will be another big crash and recovery. Most would retreat back to fiat to back back the panic sells. Then upto 3.5k to rinse and repeat at 4k. But in the bloodbath hoping some of those shtcoins will catch a wee wave.

I think it almost inevitably happens around these situations. There will likely be some dead coins revived too.

Next Stop 5k

I think it is possible this year now - I wouldn't have thought it in last December though.

Congratulations @thecryptofiend!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 10 with 528 upvotes
  • Comments - Ranked 5 with 150 comments

I think Bitcoin will easily break $3k soon..... Great post!

I hope so thank you!

I agree with you, we'll see the $3K mark within days if not today!! This is real :)

Today would be awesome but yes I hope so.

Well good call @thecryptofiend!! It happened!! We passed the 3K mark as on http://www.coindesk.com/price/ ...woo hoo

Excellent - it still is showing a lower value on CoinMarketCap though - right now it says 2956 - not sure what the difference is in how they calculate. Anyway it has at least passed the threshold somewhere - now we need to see if it can stabilise above it.

already 3k in bittrex...

My feed is currently showing 2944 - may have been a blip.

Nice post as always!

Thank you!

Welcome bro, I will appreciate if you will consider resteeming any of my post one of these days. Your whalish status will help!!

Sure I will take a look but I can't make guarantees as I already receive a lot of requests.

Thank you for this consideration. I am okay even if you don't find time to do as promised. Your kind heart is enough so no need for guarantees.Cheers.

No problem. Are you on Twitter?

I am grateful you did more than you promised. Thank you again and God bless you.

Tokens are pump and dump schemes. People already came to this conclusion in 2013 when everyone was doing crowdsales on the Bitcoin blockchain. Ethereum is now going through that cycle again.

3000 is only a significant number to humans. Markets dgaf

Also a lot of trading is done in other currencies, so 3K is only significant to the USD traders.

Markets are composed of humans - even when there are bots those bots are controlled by humans.

Although the aggregate force of the population will overpower things like imaginary number barriers. It depends on the will of the population and this population is the entire gd world. (ie. maybe the chinese want to pass 3000 because its unlucky, who knows)

I think so. The price has been rising very slowly.. Let me know if it hits 3k

It keeps getting close and then dipping down as it meets resistance. It is almost like waiting for a kettle to boil!

Hopefully, we are crossing the 3000 mark today!
$2975 on GDAX!!!! Go Go Go

I hope so it is a huge psychological boundary and the whole of crypto will get a lot more interest and therefore money coming in!

it will grow even more when australia accepts it, but ethereum is the future...

I don't think ethereum will replace bitcoin though.

Yep. Would be really nice to finally stay over 3k

Yes for sure.

bitcoin rates will be much later this year? high rate this year end?

i have a feeling it will happen before the cock crows at dawn, $2975 on GDAX.

You mean when most of Asia awakes - it is possible!

It'll be interesting to see where it starts to plateau.

Hopefully at 3K but as you know there tend to be a lot of sells on these big boundary numbers so it creates a lot of downward pressure.

I see the upward trend continuing indefinitely. Even a dip will go back up.

Yes and the recoveries seem to be quicker these days.

absolutely! I'm really excited to see the direction steem is headed too. $3, $5, $10 maybe!?

I think $10 is certainly possible if we continue the current momentum. We just have to keep spreading the word.

I completely agree. I was just talking to someone at work about steem after he brought up bitcoin. I'm hoping that since we were talking openly in a group of coworkers that others will express interest.

thank for sharing

Bitcoin will only go up in the long term. At least as far as we can predict with the current circumstances. So even if it makes a ''correction'' again, no problem at all. It's just an opportunity to buy some more :)

Absolutely. I think eventually we will be looking at $1m Bitcoin - the only question is how long it will take.

I think it will pierce 3k more convincingly (and possibly longer-term) if we see a pullback first, but anything is possible! I'd like to get more now but I'm nervous right below such a large, round price level.

Yes for sure it is a big resistance point. I think there is a strong chance of a break though.

Maybe the time is coming for bitcoin

Old money is practically breaking their necks looking at the charts, but the concept still causes trepidation in many..my day trading friends will not listen..their loss

Same with some of my more wealthy city friends. They mock me because they call it a scam. Eventually they will be rushing to get in too I think.

A lot of them trade penny bios too..talk about a scam haha

Actually this is incredible, but this happening is now quoting in eobot u $ s 2978, I still remember when its value was u $ s 400 and it seemed a lot, I did not have to invest in that moment.
Excellent work as always dear friend @thecryptofiend have a great sunday

Thank you. Lol I remember when it was around $30!

I hope not. I have an entry in the 3k BTC contest for tomorrow.

Well it might happen tomorrow. It is hard to say exactly when.

$3000 Bitcoin?
How about $1500 STEEM? ;)

That would be awesome but I think it will take a while!

No doubt about that. haha

It's definitely going to hit $3K!

Yes that is definite but will it do it in the next few days?

Hopefully!

I think it would cross the mark this time for good..and I'm glad that Steem too is gradually appreciating.

Yes I hope so.

I think we will see Bitcoin hit 3000 this time. Bitcoin and cryptos in general are just becoming more and more common. It is almost hard to believe the surge in cryptos but I think things are just getting started.

Yes me too. I think it is a matter of momentum.

This shit is bananas @thecryptofiend. It was just a few weeks ago that we were freaking out about BTC going over $2K. I picked up some Ethereum for the upcoming EOS IO and that just rolled past $300. It's the Wild West right now. I love it, lol

Yes and it is natural to be wary I think but it is fun too right now!

Steem has gone up quite a bit against bitcoin already. Inspite of steem's technical features, bitcoin market adoption, is going to push it for a while. I think the hard fork will be a buy opportunity, however.

You may be right.

I'm in Canada and it just passed $4000 in our dollar, :D we used to be almost equal to USD but have lost 30% of our value, so bitcoin is amazing for me

Yes the pound has sunk recently too. Just imagine if you were in an economy like Venezuela - I think more and more people are starting to realise how broken the fiat system is and how easily it can fall apart.

It may hit $5000 before we see a major pullback...

Now that would be awesome!

I believe this current monetary system is at it's end. So Federal Reserve Note price won't matter. What will matter is how many Bitcoin units you own.

That is what I think too.

I think BTC could make it to 3K but I wonder about the grind in the $2800 to $2900 level.... if it makes it to 3K even briefly it may go back down and stay in the 2Ks for a bit more. Maybe the grind is due to the news of Aug 1st, who knows... Eventually though I think BTC will surpass 3K and onward whether it's a new BTC after Aug 1st or not...

Well it is seems to be staying pretty well above 2900 right now.

yeah definitely! It's at $2949 last I checked... just saying it's been rough getting there! hahaha but I do think Bitcoin can reach to $100K eventually! Just saying, I'm wondering what impact the news of Aug 1st has had on it's growth.

Yes I understand. Not sure about the August 1st thing and UASF etc.

There is a lot to indicate, the trend is growing and so much of it counts

We are waiting to see great this turn of events

I don't think it will pull back again, maybe back down to around $2900 but the pressure is there you can see it building. Once it breaks it I can see it shoot up to around $4000 before we see another correction back to around $3200 then slowly claw it's way back up to around the $3900 mark

Nice article right there!

Btw. BTC
going up to 3000 very soon! :)

Well it reached it briefly but it seems to have gone down again.

I think it will make, will it stay there though?

Looks like it did briefly but it has gone down again.

Indeed, only to bounce again.

There are 2 pages
Pages