'Tis The Season To Spend, Spend, Spend

in #black-friday4 years ago

It's amazing how something that was quintessentially American has spread across the globe. It's not too surprising that we follow American culture here in the UK, after all we are "two countries separated by a common language". This phenomenon, however, has propagated way beyond the reach of even the English language and has effectively become global.

Black Friday


imac.jpg

Yours truly exactly 10 years ago (2009) buying my first iMac at the Apple Store


"Black Friday" is the day after Thanksgiving in America. Thanksgiving occurs on the fourth Thursday of November every year. It is considered the busiest shopping day in the American retail industry, even though now with technology and online shopping, it's been rivalled by other days such as "Cyber Monday". It's basically the beginning of the holiday shopping season.

There are multiple explanations of how the name "Black Friday" came to be, but the most widely accepted one is that due to the volume of sales that happens on that day, it takes most retailers books from loss to profit. That is, going from being "in the red" to being "in the black". In accounting, traditionally, losses were recorded in red, while profits are recorded in black ink - or something like that.

The day itself has lost significance, since it's been "Black Friday" here for the past six days. It's basically "Black Friday Week" officially now.

It's an excuse for retailers to offload some of their inventory, clear their stock and make way for fresh stock for the new year. For the consumers, it's an opportunity to snag some awesome deals.

I have been eyeing up a few things, but I have a strict budget so I can only get the one thing. As such, I am still undecided since I'm still busy over-analysing things :)

As some of you may know, I am trying to embrace minimalism. I have been considering downsizing completely to using just a tablet and a phone - getting rid of my laptop and all other attached devices. I think I can pull it off, and it may even boost my productivity somewhat.

The other side of me wants to go all in and invest in a spectacular camera and raise my content game to the sky. It's a dilemma, like having an angel and devil on each shoulder.

If I was my brother, I'd just buy both things - incurring debt. Me, I'm just way too frugal for that. Even buying the one thing is giving me so much bother. I'm partly thinking of putting the money into Crypto instead :)

I've given myself till midnight to make a decision and pick one. If not, then I just wont buy anything at all haha.


What are you buying/ have you bought this Black Friday? Or is it all just silly consumerism to you?



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

I need a new graphic card asap but the only deals I find are of old models. I also noticed several things on my wish list got higher to apply a fake black fraud day discount lol. The one i trusts are VSTS cos they do a bulk discount only the weekend and you know what it costs before and after

fake black fraud day discount

ROTFLOL!!!! Yeah that's a classic move :)

I came to it all on my own but probably many others before me

Good luck on the minimal approach - I adore that!

Not a fan of BF but sometimes there’s a deal on something you’ve been waiting to buy anyway. It makes complete sense to do that :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've decided I don't need a new camera :D

Well I managed to secure an early Black Friday deal on a server to run Steem witness on 😉

You're a Steem soldier! :)

hahaa I work in retail, I'm embarrassed to say, so I am sick to death of black friday. no spending will happen on my part lol

You see the fraud from the inside :)

There is nothing I am desperate for and so I am not really looking to buy anything. You do get bombarded with Black Friday these days. It's in every other email I get.

I’m getting a lot of “from my family to yours” emails too :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can imagine how busy the day really is. Buy and shop more sir.

Spend spend spend 😵🤩

Posted using Partiko iOS

I may indulge in some new super fast SD cards (for my new camera) in the Black Friday offers. If there are some SD card offers

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hehe! Ade good choice👍

Posted using Partiko Android