The Black Panther: The Movie of a Generation (No Spoilers)

MV5BMTg1MTY2MjYzNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTc4NTMwNDI@._V1_UY1200_CR90,0,630,1200_AL_.jpg

Very rarely is a movie produced that can transcend the way we see ourselves. Growing up as a kid in Indiana, the "cool" things to be were an athlete or a rapper. You were actually laughed at if you studied more, read more and got better grades. Only in certain American communities is it frowned upon to have education, knowledge and useful information that could help you live your best life. 🤔🤔🤔

This movie deserves all of the acclaim and recognition that it's getting and will continue to get. Never in my lifetime have I seen a movie so impactful to how I see myself and the world as a black man. So it is with great pride that I share my experience from my eyes (without any spoilers.)

black-panther-poster-1.jpg

In King T'Challa, I see the epitome of black manhood. Though the movie is fictional, I believe that he represents what pride, humility, leadership and intellect should be in the black man. I see a lot of myself in King T'Challa. He is a brother, servant leader, a man of great intellect and pride and a lover of humanity. He embodies kinsmanship and respect even amongst those who are trying to kill him. He is a powerful representation of black manhood and can be a great example for young black males who see what this movie represents. The narrative for hundreds of years has been that the black male is oversexualized, ignorant, violent, dishonest and evil. For 2+ hours, those who view this movie will see all of those myths and generalizations of the black male debunked.

The beauty of the women in this movie was INSANE! 😍😍😍 To me, they represented the beauty of Wakanda and of all of Africa. When most people think of Africa, they may think of poverty to the point of the unbearable living conditions. But within Africa there is so much beauty and resources more abundant than any other continent on earth!

Black-Panther-Character-Poster-Letitia-Wright.jpg

As King T'Challa's younger sister, Shuri is a techie genius. She has great wit and is gorgeous! I see a lot of my female friends and sister in Shuri. Her character dispels the constant portrayal of black women in a negative "ghettoized" light. Black women are not only sexy and gorgeous but also VERY INTELLECTUAL.

-Black-Panther-Character-Poster-black-panther-40847166-823-1200.jpg

Okoye has unbridled pride of Wakanda and leads an all-female fleet of bodyguards who protect King T'Challa. Okoye represents the strong women in my family such as my mother, sister, grandmother and countless aunts. She has a take no "ish" demeanor and represents the strength that I see in the black woman.

black_panther_ver6_xlg.jpg

Nakia is T'Challa's former lover and spy for the country of Wakanda. She embodies a deep love for T'Challa, Wakanda and everything that is honorable. We have all dated and maybe have loved before so to me Nakia represents the lessons of love and learning from prior relationships that I have. When I saw her, I became thankful for forgiving myself and forgiving those who have hurt me in the past. I also became thankful for the lessons in love, sacrifice and trust that was shown in her and T'Challa's relationship.

black-panther-poster-angela-bassett-412x600.jpg

Ramonda is T'Challa's mother and the ageless Queen of Wakanda. She represents the beauty and grace of the fictitious Wakanda and real-life Africa. As T'Challa's loving advisor, she reminds me of my mother, grandmothers and sister. Ramonda's strength as Queen symbolizes the strength of the black mother. Mothers in general just have the power to do unthinkable things while loving and nurturing in the process. Seeing the reflection of the women in my life in Ramona has given me an even greater appreciation to any mother out there!

-Black-Panther-Character-Poster-black-panther-40847168-823-1200.jpg

Zuri is the wiseman of Wakanda. He represents loyalty to King T'Challa and Wakanda. Zuri reminds me of the mentors that are in my life who always tell me the truth and not what I want to hear. Although Zuri is loyal to a dangerous fault, there is great pride for what his loyalty means to me and the relationships I hold near and dear to me.

Black-Panther-WKabi-poster.jpg

W'Kabi is T'Challa's best friend and "muscle." He also represents loyalty and patience. W'Kabi reminds me of my brother from whom I'm 12 years older. We are loyal to each other and we always have each others back despite the age difference.

IMG_20170526_192600_160.jpg 👬🏾

For those who have not yet seen the movie it is AWESOME! I'm not a big movie-goer but I definitely will go see this again! I saw so many applicable characters that taught me valuable lessons in my life. Hopefully it can do the same for you all!

Thanks for reading Steemians! Don't forget to hit that upvote button. I'll be sure to follow back!
🐱🇱🇾

Sort:  

This movie promotes black excellence and give the black community a strong voice. Finally we have a super hero of our own.
It's a must watch for me.

955e96df5113200970f67af5f86a2c3a.jpg

Absolutely @mirahcul! Have you had a chance to see it yet? I'm going again!

Seen it twice myself. I keep missing the beginning of the movie. I guess that means 1 more time

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and Black Panther is cool but education is good even if it is frown upon and some people frown upon life and love abortion as well but abortion is murder.

Congratulations @chantsunderwood! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @chantsunderwood! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!