You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AIRDROPS - do you LOVE OR HATE them? or simply don't care?

in #blockchain5 years ago

Thank you for your comment @chekohler

Sorry for such late reply. Past few days were not fun (I had birthday yesterday and I've spent entire day sick in bed - sucks).

I would like to ask you a question. What is your opinion on KYC required by so many airdrops?

Personally I strongly believe that each crypto/ICO that require KYC should be required by law to receive licence that would allow them to proceed with KYC. And in order to receive that licence, they would have to prove to local authorities that they follow some security standard and all collected informations are safe.

My biggest worry is the fact, that right now anyone can claim that they are "forced by regulators" to proceed with KYC and this is currently the easiest way to collect our personal data by 3rd parties. And we cannot know how well secured those datas are. We cannot even know if company is legit and isn't planning to sell those data to another 3rd party.

Have a great upcoming weekend :)
Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

Personally, I think KYC should be handled via a smart contract and Oracle that can verify your data from other sources. The more verified data from various sources the stronger your profile and the more access you can unlock. This can all be sealed with a biometric scan like a thumbprint from any smart device. I don't think handing over data for review is practical and efficient

Dear @chekohler

I just realized that I never had a chance to read and reply this comment. Not even simple "thank you". Sorry about it.

Just wanted to let you know that finally I did read it and I'm very grateful for your constant support and for being so responsive.

Yours
Piotr