Crypto Enthusiasts Resources, Ep. 15: WhatToMine.com - Mining Calculator

in #blockchain7 years ago (edited)

This is the fifteenth day of my 30 days challenge dedicated to crypto resources. Each day I will post a relevant resource (used by me, or recommended) and at the end of each post you'll see a list of all the previous articles.

I'm personally not big into mining, but I understand the exchange of extra computing resources for some rewards. From this position, of a casual miner, I want to present you today WhatToMine.com, a mining calculator with a comprehensive list of cryptocurrencies.


Screen Shot 2017-10-26 at 10.45.21 AM.png


You see the most important metrics, like the network difficulty and the total hashing power. There is also an interesting breakdown on algorithms and type of hardware (GPU, Asics, etc).

Probably the most interesting part is the "Coins" section, where you can see the newcomers, or the currencies which are way below the third decimal of a dollar.


Screen Shot 2017-10-26 at 10.45.26 AM.png


I personally mine a bit of Gridcoin (which is not in the list of coins above), by putting resources to work for projects like Asteroids@home or Einstein@home, but if you want to have a play with other tokens, make your pick.


Previous Resources


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

Maybe you have to explain better whyBOINCing for Gridcoin is much better than mining from home...Contribution to the science development is also a good objective and can be attractive for many people
Good post!

Yeap, that's a good idea for a future post in this series.

the link to the website doesn't work.

typo, fixed, thanks for the heads up

Great job @dragosroua...:) your post is very interesting, I like your post, because it can add insight for me, hopefully the future can provide better posts again, so that I can know many things in my life, thank you..

thats a cool website, cheers for the information. I also don't do a lot of mining, but its nice to know whats available

this one seems to be very useful thanks for sharing :)

Does that website show you how to set-up the miner as well?

Nice....post bro please
One upvote my post