You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Solve Fake News with Proof of Consensus and Blockchains

I agree with entirely the last half of the article, and much of the first half. But there are a few statements where you can't exactly prove (I agree with @mrosenquist on his points). The blockchain will definitely be a public record and can improve narrowing that difference between actual and perceived consensus. But determining the Truth is another story. So how does that relate to Fake News? Let's call Fake News what it really is: click-bait. It's what people are writing to get clicks for ads or products or to push out propaganda to influence things like elections. The term Fake News is thrown around like an idea when it should be applied to evidence: I often ask people to give an example of a Fake News article and they have trouble mentioning one unless its the Hillary polling, which was off in a few States but almost exactly correct in the national polling (48%). Now if you believe in the wisdom of the crowd, then a blockchain can still possibly get closer to the Truth, but what if your crowd is Infowars? We are back to the echo chamber, only the chamber is a blockchain. Even Wikipedia is prone to errors and false pages. Blockchains can help by making information transparent and immutable, but I don't think it alone will solve fake news.

Sort:  

now that I think about, the only real news I have seen in the past 2 months is that Donald Trump will be the next president, and that's the only news that matters to me, it's the best news I got this year, second best was when he announced he was running. After the first few weeks of watching him campaign, I realized he would win, and was inspired to write this line. ...

Satan took control of the world with two words... "you're fired"

Only the devil himself can make America great again, and that's why I always supported Trump.