You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blockchain, Voting, & Elections: What’s the Problem?

in #blockchain7 years ago

Very interesting concept Terry. I can remember some years ago, about 10 years ago, seeing a Doctor's digital signature on his diagnostic findings letter, or on a prescription note. I remember that digital signature reminding me of a wallet address.
I think this might be a good idea for a voting process. This would be optimal way to vote as long as the system isn't, God forbid, hacked to block a vote from getting through, nor an EMP/MPF destruction.

Sort:  

You raise a good point, @parcke. Hacking is always a concern. However, "ballot stuffiing" and other illegal tactics are already happening with the current system. No one has been able to hack the bitcoin blockchain. No one. Ever. It is has been tried thousands, if not millions of times. That says something about its reliability.

Hey, nice ot have you stop by. Hope to see you again.

Yes I understand that blockchain has not been blocked nor has been able to. my reply wasn't as clear as what I was fully thinking...sorry about that. What I really meant about the hack on the block chain, I really should have noted hacking to block the computer from communicating out the vote. But, I could be wrong about that, too.
Since the computer if at a voting station might not be linked into any external server(s) would be the safest option. Voting from the home might pose the problem though.

By the way, I appreciate your insights. I just learned of you coming across YouTube about 4 days ago on topic concerning Steemit. I don't remember exactly the the exact topic for now, because I was studying several subjects such as Steemit, ICO's, and cryptocurrency, etc. Nice presentation voice to learn from.