Has the steemit community changed lately?

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Warning. A long post is about to strike


Hello. I have been blogging after a really long time but this time i am back with a bit serious topic.
image
Image Source
Now those who have joined Steemit recently might not be aware of the slight changes that this community underwent (and i am somewhat suffering from one of these). So let's begin-

  • Steemit just got more demanding.
    Any old minnow would have realised by now that the competition in Steemit is getting tougher day by day (like literally 'day by day'). By an estimate made about 4 months ago, Steemit gets over 8000 new users on a daily basis. I mean, just imagine how tough it has become to stay distinct and extraordinary as everyone is up with something new.
  • Fake followers.
    By fake followers, i don't mean bots. I mean real humans who just follow you for the sake of following. I mean i myself have got about 400 followers but all i get is 10 to 15 upvotes per post. So it is important you must get involved in conversation with people (be it in the comments or in Steemit.chat) who are eager to read what you write and clearly i have failed in doing so.
  • The need to Upvote.
    What most minnows (most, not all) do these days is just posting. They completely forget that they can also upvote other people's posts. They don't upvote i mean almost 80 percent minnows whose profile i have visited have voting power more than 90.
  • People don't read these days.
    Basically, Steemit is a place where you blog and express yourself. But how would that be possible if people don't read your posts. I am just completely unable to understand the current situation here. There are very few people who actually read posts. I fear clickbait may get started in Steemit if this goes on.

Thank you for reading this post (Only if someone's reading it. If you are reading and have reached till here then please comment : ) ).

I would ask any dolphin or whale that reads this post to kindly reblog it so that people may get aware and change a bit.

Lastly I am very sorry if someone feels offended from this post. I never had any intentions of doing so.

Sort:  

Not sure how point No1 is "wrong".
Competition makes us better. Bring it on !!! :)

It surely makes you better if its fair. I mean with all those people to compete with it would be difficult to shine out

Most of the content is crap so I understand why people don't read...

Well everyone is not a good writer so they may not be able to express properly. But a lot of good posts get skipped out without even being read by the targeted

These are some great thoughts. Thanks for sharing.

Certainly the increasing number of users could be considered a bad thing, but if you think about it through the lens of how you and I are earlier adopters than they are, it starts to look better. You have all of these things figured out about the platform. This is a quality post where you've shared your thoughts. I'm sure you engage others' posts or else you wouldn't post about it.

I agree that the platform needs more engagement. Quality comments are the best way to build a solid follower base. It's definitely important to read posts all the way through before commenting so that users know you've read it.

I agree with you 100% that things are changing, but it's thoughtful posts like this that make Steemit a better place. Keep up the good work!

@tippy vote
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @addicted7abinash to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you for your kind words. Steemit is surely an awesome platform to share and express yourself. But it seemed to me that many good people with their awesome posts are lacking the exposure they deserve.

Thank you for noticing the same things as I as of late have been seeing. One thing about it, people are so dilluted when it comes to entertainment. They know the potential of what steemit offers and they love the freedom and the community. The hard part is this. With so much content being put into the system, without either standing out or people not intentionally clicking on you on their friends list, you get lost in the mix. They see something that you write and then it's like you disappear off their screen, and you do in reality to make room for new content.

I am happy to be here on steem and I was in fairly early. I could have worked harder as I'm sure everyone could. It becomes so big of a part of your life that it owns you. If one were to "do it right", it takes so much of your time up because you are interacting with people, commenting, actually putting content up that you have to take a break from it so you can actually live your life on the side of it. There is no balance when you actually boil it down unless you make a balance. Then people judge you by the effort you put into it, and if they don't think you put enough time in then you aren't worthy anymore.

Depending on how serious you want to get is how much you will get out of it. Just share what is around you, comment on what interests you and make some connections. I think we're missing the point with steemit. We're complicating this platform. Just put something up. This is the new "book" or your platform to let people put their experience on the blockchain.
Never before can the common man share and have it be seen by anyone. It can't be tampered with and you can't get rid of it. You can't burn these records now can ya?

So I'm going to wnd with this. Don't worry about how many people read these posts now. They are here to be read for ever. If you think about generations down the road, this is your legacy. So the @addicted7abinash of today is taking care of the one down the road and your people coming years into the future. Hang in there my friend. And great post.

Thank you. I think i must continue hunting for new and extraordinary content and continue sharing. :

Resteem your post to 1500+ followers for only 0.5 SBD or Steem)

Just send 0.5 SBD or steem to @steemvote (URL as memo)

New Followers get 0.001 SBD$ and an upvote for free!!

Just follow @steemvote and...

  • we follow back
  • send you 0.001 SBD to your wallet

Resteemed by @steemvote - send only 0.5 SBD to get your post resteemed to 1,5K follower and receive Bonus-Upvotes

Yes it is certainly tougher, stick to it and slowly things will start to improve 👍🏾

I have read it. Partially I agree.

Hi! I am new here so first thank you lots for sharing what the community is and was like with us newbies. I joined Steemit to share ideas but more importantly to learn from everyone else! Thank you for your words they are a good inspiration to keep interacting with the community.

Some very legit points. I feel a large part of getting my posts read includes having a title that is slightly click-bait. If I do a well-written how-to I feel like most people will just glaze over it. I've also found that personal stories seem to do better than any other. People like a good adventure story.

It can definitely be frustrating to put the time and effort into crafting a quality post only to have it sink to the depths of oblivion. I guess persistence is the key here. Sooner or later some of the bigger players will recognize you (or at least that's what I keep telling myself). I'll be interested to see how this next fork alters things.

I hope i will get a bit better and make quality posts. Thank you by the way : )

I think you're on the right track. Keep it up!

I read til the end although I am a newbie. ;) I follow you for a reason and I am cleaning my list for 2 hours now. You're still part of it. Sorry for your "loss".

Thank you for reading