100 Follower celebration!

in #blog6 years ago

2 weeks on STEEMIT and I've already reached 100 followers! Pretty exciting. Let's give the platform a bit of a review. Will be a good thing to revisit at the next milestone.

I found that it took a few days to find anyone worth following aside from @alexbeyman (who introduced me to steemit). This might be a function of my hours. As I'm sure most of the traffic is during daytime in the western hemisphere, what I end up with is a lot of foreign language posts when I go to the "new" tab.

This hurts my posts and following a bit as well, I assume. Though there seems to be a solid English speaking Australian community, so that's nice. @choogirl @holoz0r @ausbitbank

I managed to find some good people in gaming and science eventually. @deadspace @geekpowered @mobbs @steemstem @amavi @suesa

I dig through comments on posts I like to see if there's anyone in there posting quality content. Have found a few.

This might be a bit of an issue. The fact that we're not notified when we get a new follower, means that we're missing out on potential like minded content creators.

Another issue I'm finding is motivation to curate content. As my steem power is pretty low, and will be for the foreseeable future, it's not very helpful to myself or the community at large to really dig for good new stuff.

If I didn't have @alexbeyman to motivate me, and a couple of nice minnow supporters, I don't think I would still be here.

Recently a few big youtuber's that I follow have jumped over to steemit and d-tube. I'm not sure if that would have motivated me to come back or not. They already have huge followings, and so do very well on here. I think that unless you're a prolific writer like Alex and can post multiple times daily, it would be hard for a minnow to get started now.

I don't know. I'm going to keep at it for a bit regardless. Like I said, I have just enough motivation.

If you enjoy my content and want to see more, considering pimping me ( @anticleric ) out to your followers.

If you have any recommendations for people I should follow, I would love to hear those as well.

Sort:  

I can say that I followed you before you were famous!

Congratulations on managing to captivate an audience of 100. That's a 20 car pile up on a freeway, or about 5 buses.

Soon you'll be able to boast a 747 worth of audience, next, the staff and crew of a battleship!

haha.. let's not get ahead of ourselves. I'm not even sure what percentage of them are just poor kids trying to get votes on comments like "Good post... carry on..."
Battleship crew does sound nice though.

well done. 100 subs in 2 weeks in a platform like steemit is very well done. you write good too. i'll keep eye on next posts..

For the "follower notification" issue, I recommend ginabot, a bot on the discord app: https://steemit.com/@ginabot

Amazing! Thanks so much suesa. Just set it up. Can't wait to see it work. haha

I'm gonna have to try this over the telegram bot that I use currently! Thanks for the suggestion!

Congratulations man 😊.🎁🎂 Go ahead!

I agree, the rapid growth of the platform makes it hard for minnows to start now, but also, I think the cryptocurrency was valued lower earlier on so early Steemians had the benefit of acquiring low and selling high today. But it's all still so confusing to me so I could be totally wrong.

Thanks for shout out. Good to see the Aussies represented here (me, Holo and Ausbit). Loving your VR stuff. It's very cool.

As for curation, until you get to 500SP, you can only do 10 upvotes a day without draining your voting power too much. Surely you can find 10 posts you like a day? Or upvote comments. Easy.

Cheers. I'm not sure how far to push the VR content development on here. Hard to judge my audience. Do they want flashy pictures, or more technical stuff? I will keep at it though.

Long way off from 500SP. I do use my 10 votes a day, but I tend to use them on people that don't need the votes. Which is what I'm saying about it being difficult for newbies to get a leg up.

Congratulations! I use the esteem app on my phone to notify me of followers, comments, votes, etc. It's kind of buggy at times, but it is nice to get a notification on my phone for when those things happen.

Thanks! :)

Ah sweet. We'll see how @ginabot works out. I have discord open all the time anyway (to chat with VR peeps). Will try esteem if gina rubs me the wrong way.

Not bad. I've been on 2 weeks and have only 73! Keep talking about leisure suit larry and I'm sure your numbers are gonna grow :-P

haha. Good plan. I just realized it's been over 2 weeks in reality. It's actually 20 days. So you might actually be doing better than me :P

It's probably been the same for me too. I think I started posting on the 8th or 9th. I'm just getting the hang of this thing learning about sbd multipliers and bots. You have a unique product to offer that most on here or elsewhere don't, being both a dev and a gamer. As long as people can see your content(the tough part) I think you should stand out from the crowd.

great blog that is
thanks for sharing this on steemit
carry on dear