Let's talk about industry bullshitters [VR Dev Blog]

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Does every industry have these assclowns? I've only ever been a game developer, but I imagine they have to be mucking with everyone else as well.

There are a few types of regular spam emails I get from what I guess are like, Market Research companies? They're usually offering some insight in the form of bullshit charts based on numbers they pulled out of their ass that even REAL industry professionals don't have access to.

I got an example of this today:
Ubiquitous $90 billion AR to dominate focused $15 billion VR by 2022

I'm not allowed by law to republish their charts here, so let me break it down for you in realistic terms.

Industry adviser/market research company:
"Hey, some idiot! We need charts to show the growth of new exciting thing!"

Some idiot: "Ok, I looked up the search term, and it has grown exponentially over the last week since *new exciting thing* was announced. I'll extrapolate that out for the next 5 years and make a chart."

The Chart:

Industry adviser/market research company: "Wow! This is amazing! Now copy that chart 10 times, for units, sales, investments, EVERYTHING and put it in a PDF we can charge money for. Also, if you could minimize the *exciting thing from last year* (that we were completely wrong about) and add it to the charts, that would be great! "

Seriously... what the hell? These ass-hats have been doing this since the launch of consumer VR. We saw it with HMD sales numbers (which nobody is allowed to or has talked about). We saw it with the growth of VR over 5 years. We saw it with everything that nobody knew (or could possibly know) the answers to. And they're consistently wrong.

Why is this a thing?

Don't even get me started on the things like INFLUENCERS and coattail riding know-nothings that do talks at conferences (which I mentioned here).

This kind of thing is one of the only things I can think of that makes me actually angry. There are a lot of struggling, hard-working people out there getting the shaft because of these types.

More people need to publicly laugh in the faces of these clowns or they're just going to keep selling their snake oil.

On a brighter note, as the industry matures, the real people don't even show up any more. So we have ass-clowns buying expensive conference tickets and expensive reports to learn what other idiot ass-clowns think about things they don't understand. haha. That's gotta make you laugh.

Follow me on STEEMIT @anticleric to hear more rants about the VR industry, life, the universe and everything.

Sort:  

For every one creator, there are ten people who want to somehow make money out of their ideas without doing the work required.

This is a story as old as Tesla and Edison.