Diary of An Anixous Millennial #10- To the Best Friend College Brought to Me

in #blog6 years ago

Dear Maggie,

12313534_10153867107549614_6288069277970552894_n.jpg

I have been meaning to write this for so long but have not gotten around to it. I finally am at the point in my night where I think I have the right things to say. Warning this is likely to become super sappy super quickly.

I have watched so many people meet their best friends at such a young age. I have watched many people hang on to their childhood best friends. I sadly never have gotten that privilege even though I have tried my hardest to. Sometimes people just don't want to stay in your life. It may have taken till college but I truly have found that one friend I know no matter what happens in life, where we live we will always be best of friends.

Many people I feel say that about every close friend that they have then years later are disappointed. I know that this friendship is true because it is the first true friendship I have been able to truly share my deepest darkest feelings and not be told I'm selfish or that I need to get over myself. I don't think I have really ever had a friend that I could lay all my burdens on like many people have done on me. I have also never had a friend that we could have hours worth of random conversation about absolute craziness. I have never had a friend that when we have fought we come back to each other more upset that we are fighting then what we were fighting about. I have never had a friend who went out of their way to make me happy when I was truly sad. Like who throws a dance party in the dorm when spring formal sucks? Only the bestest friend in the whole world. Who shoots you with nerf bullets to get the sadness out of you. Who tortures you with annoying duck songs until you laugh? Who makes sure you have a tiara at your birthday? Who tucks you in after getting super wasted? Who do you fan girl with over crazy villain characters? Who sends you random videos? Who do you get in meme wars with?

My best friend has done everything above and beyond any friendship I have ever had. She is a beautiful human who deserves to know she doesn't go unnoticed. The amount of friend love I have received is beyond the amount I have ever given myself. She is the most selfless, giving and loving human being. She is a rare treasure and anyone who can't see that is crazy and blind. She is the person who would give you her whole life just to make sure you were smiling.

I may not have known her my whole life, but quality of quantity. We have been friends for two years but they are the best two years of friendship I have probably ever experienced. True friendship I have learned is one of the rarest things we will ever get to experience. It is something we shouldn't take for granted. Finding someone who truly will be there for you is almost impossible. I am beyond thankful for finally finding the bestest friend one person could ever have.

I do have many other friends, and many people I would consider best friends, but Maggie is truly someone who stands out from the rest. She is truly that person who proves everyday she is there even while being slammed with work and being 2,000 plus miles away. The days I get lost in my head I know I can tell her and she wont be annoyed and wont leave. She is one of the few people who accepts me for my bad days. She accepts that sometimes I am weak. She truly is the first person I know wont leave when things turn dark, she will just smack me upside the head and tell me to quit it and smile.

I hope that everyone gets to find the kind of friendship I have found. There were many times in life I thought I truly found that best friend, but honestly I have never had a friend that even remotely stands up to how Maggie has treated me, to the extent of being someone I can actually rely on, a shoulder I can cry on (even though tears weird her out). She also knows that I am there for her just as much as she is for me and that is what makes it the best friendship I have ever had.

Thank you Maggie!

"The flower that blooms in adversity... is the most rare and beautiful of them all" - Mulan

"The most beautiful quality of a true friendship is to understand and be understood with absolute clarity" - Hannibal

"Friendship isn't who you have known the longest but who came, and never left"- Unknown

"It's the friends we meet along the way that help us appreciate the journey" - Unknown

"Unexpected friendships are the best ones" - Unknown

"Hard times will always reveal true friends" - Unknown

"Good friends care for each other. Close friends understand each other but, True friends stay forever, beyond words, beyond distance, beyond time." - Unknown

"A true friend accepts who you are but also helps you become who you should be" - Unknown