Diary of an Anxious Millennial #8- The Friend Who Saved My Life

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Dear Holly,

26992366_1778706935772368_4287925613474947795_n.jpg

I can't tell you how much you truly mean to me as a friend and as a person. I am writing this to share the story of our wonderful friendship and how it came to be. I met you my Junior year of high school at the local Tim Hortons that I was a regular at because I had fallen into the wrong crowd. I remember sitting there being so quiet and awkward and not even involving myself into the conversation. But instead of letting me sit back you directly involved me into the conversation and I started getting to know you. You started singing a song and we were having such a good time. Then I remember you gave me your cell phone number and told me to text you whenever. I felt so awkward already because at that point you were just a complete stranger and I had honestly never had someone express an interest in friendship. Then I remember you taking a picture to me and sending it to our best friend Max and saying how we would be perfect and I thought you were so crazy. However it made me smile to no end when I got home.
Shortly after meeting you I hit the darkest, worst part of my life... and by that I mean internally the worst part of my life. I wanted to die every single day and I honestly thought I was truly dying because my body was rejecting anything and everything. I couldn't sleep at night, I couldn't eat, half the time I couldn't breathe. I had panic attacks regularly. I was constantly struggling and wanted it all to end.
Then one day you messaged me and said to get my pants on we were going for a ride. You brought me to Kmart, Target, Walmart and we walked around. You were so much yourself and you let me awkwardly walk behind you not saying a word. I remember how I used to just nod half the time or say yeah or no. You let me just be quiet and awkward. You didn't question or drop me at the moment. After we hung out I thought I would probably never hear from you again because I thought no one cared. But miss Holly, holy did you show me how wrong I was. You would randomly ask me to hangout and I would go and slowly I was able to open up to you, you made me feel like I really could have friends. We would go on Denny's dates and then Max started becoming apart of my life. The two of you put up with how awkward and uncomfortable I was. But you never gave up on me. You both encouraged me to no end! Holly you mean so much to me and honestly you saved me from myself. You showed me that there are truly good people in the world. Even several years later you have been there to help me with life. You have made me feel so important. You taught me that sometimes the stranger that works at your favorite coffee shop can become your best friend. You showed me that there are people out there that are willing to stick by people. I value our friendship to no end. I would not trade it for the world either. Thank you for being the amazing human being you are! Thank you for proving to me that friends really do exist and that we all have battles and that we don't have to fight them alone. Thank you for texting me that day and telling me to put pants on because you were coming to get me. You saved my life and I love you with all my heart!