Fear or Phobia?

in #blog6 years ago

I thought it would be interesting if I made up a list of all my fears and phobias. It is meant to be humorous because some of these really are ridiculous. I know I am ridiculous and the things that scare me are crazy. However, some of these fears or phobias are ones that many people have. I also don’t want this post to make anyone feel bad for having fears or phobias. They are real. Fear is a valid feeling. That being said here is a list of all my fears and phobias and to add extra fun the name of these phobias.

579696_3636442045277_1142100065_n.jpg

1. Clowns: Coulrophobia

PHOBIA! I would include an image for this but no. I legit am so terrified of clowns that I can’t even look at images of clowns. I know that opens me up to the trolls of the internet but this is my number one phobia. I can’t do parades, or the circus because they truly cause me extreme anxiety.

2. Dark Water/Ocean: Thalassophobia

PHOBIA! I am terrified of if water I can not see the bottom. I refuse to go in a lake, river or the ocean if it is not completely clear! I just can’t handle the idea of not knowing what is swimming around my feet. However, two years ago I got in the ocean for the first time with the encouragement of my sister. I also went on a cruise this past August which pushed me out of my comfort zone. Funny enough though I love going to the aquarium to see all the amazing fish that exist in the ocean.

pexels-photo-38585.jpeg

13254613_10156942233095634_5525411033963542259_n.jpg

3. Spiders and Scorpions: Arachnophobia

FEAR! I am very scared of spiders and scorpions but I can exist around them as long as they don’t touch me. I respect their need to be in the environment but they aren’t allowed to exist in my personal space. Eek!! They are just creepy. !

spider-312091_960_720.png

Draw-scorpion-clipart.jpeg

4. Old People: Gerontophobia

FEAR! Now this sounds bad but I am scared of healthy old people at the gym. It is the one reason I struggle going to the gym. This makes me sound like a bad person but it really creeps me out. I guess it is because they aren’t the traditional version of elderly people.

5. Losing My Teeth: Odontophobia

PHOBIA! I am so scared of losing my teeth that I have nightmares about it. I brush my teeth like it is a religion and even though I am also scared of the dentist I go regularly because losing my teeth is the worst thing that could happen.

dental-hygiene-156103_960_720.png

6. Glass Door Knobs getting Hot and Exploding In My Eyes: Nelophobia (fear of glass)

FEAR! Who isn’t afraid of this? I know Aunt Josephine has this fear! I relate to her on so many levels that is why I had to add this in for some humor. We all have crazy weird fear.

DVUhxgNY7CGxVIDNn3xvCcCHY_iK7n3b4CungjX2Tzs.jpg

7. Objects with Eyes and Fear of Things and People who Stare: Ommetaphobia

FEAR! I am not completely put off by staring and eyes but I really don’t like it. It makes me super uncomfortable. To the point where I couldn’t nap the other day because not only did I have a unicorn balloon staring at me but I had my boyfriend staring at me.

800px-Staring_contest.svg.png

I have a lot more fears and phobias but I figured I would share just a few so in the future I could share more. The list goes on and on. I have a lot of quirky anxieties and a lot of things that make me really uncomfortable.

Ocean Image
Spider Image
Scorpion Image
Teeth Image
Glass Door Knob Image
Staring Image

Sort:  

I am not a doctor and it is the first time I know someone who has so many fears and phobias.

Have you done mental and physical relaxation exercises? I think they will help you calm your anxiety and control it.

I'm about to publish how to relax, but I have problems with INTERNET access. I do not have internet every day, but when I go to my sister.

I hope to publish this week.

Yes, I do a lot of relaxation breathing that I learned in Therapy and also go to Therapy for a number of reasons. Some of these fears give me extreme anxiety and some of them give me mild discomfort. They are all on a different scale. Like clowns is a 10, I can't breathe, think or anything but staring is like a 4 where is just makes me mildly anxious and uncomfortable.

Oh, and I do not like the spiders and the family of the "arachnids" and I prefer to be away from any of those bugs.

And if I can, I kill them; with an object, spraying them with insecticide, or preparing water and dissolving soap (acts as an insecticide) and spraying them with the preparation.

It takes a while to die, but it dies.That quiets me and reassures me, once "the bug" has died.

I really don't like bugs and am scared of them but I don't really ever kill them. The only bugs I do ever kill are cockroaches and I spray for them. The rest I try to catch and take far outside however spiders and scorpions I need someone else to catch and move. I don't like killing bugs because they have a purpose in the environment but they scare me so I don't want them around me.