25/7/2020 Allotment Tour

in #blog4 years ago

Guy's, this week has been so busy I haven't had the time to visit my allotment, and I feel like that is such a bad thing.

I have been wanting to pop down all week but other life events have come in the way. luckily I had a little bit of time today while I nursed my hangover to go down and see what has been happening.

One of the biggest things that I noticed was the size of my pumpkin plants, and the size of the pumpkins growing on it.

take a look at this one looking through at us.

WP_20200725_14_49_39_Pro.jpg

Can you see it? no? does this picture help?

WP_20200725_14_49_45_Pro.jpg

The plant is covered in them, and this one is my biggest so far, and is bigger than a golf ball.

I have always wanting to grow a super-sized pumpkin and I am hoping that this year is my year.

WP_20200725_14_49_50_Pro.jpg

To help the pumpkins that are already growing I have pruned around them and put the suckers in the ground, this is to give them more roots which should make them act as individual plants.

This means that the one pumpkin should have its own root system and feed that one pumpkin. which should mean bigger pumpkins.

WP_20200725_15_34_38_Pro.jpg

I grew sunflowers between my pumpkins as they grow tall, which means I have utilized the space. otherwise, I wouldn't have had any sunflowers this year on this plot.

WP_20200725_15_34_42_Pro.jpg

My Dahlias are doing amazing in between my petunias which I feel like it has added color to the plot. I have found that doing this as increased the amount of bees on the plot which to me is a bonus.

WP_20200725_15_34_48_Pro.jpg

My potatoes are getting ready for harvest, they have already flowered and now starting to droop. I can't wait to dig these and see the results.

WP_20200725_15_34_52_Pro.jpg

I have kept a net around my corn as at the beginning it was getting eaten by an unknown thing, once the net was up it as grown so much better.

WP_20200725_15_34_59_Pro.jpg

Now the shocker of it all is how well my tomatoes are doing since they have always been outside they have developed flowers and now I have tomatoes growing, they are still green but they are coming along.

WP_20200725_15_35_07_Pro.jpg

WP_20200725_15_35_15_Pro.jpg

My beans have taken off, I only planted 6 and I have a vast amount, probably not enough to feed my family for a year but for the first time I think I have done well with these.

WP_20200725_15_35_21_Pro.jpg

My broccoli is doing better since I netted them, but while I haven't been there this week the net had come off, I don't see any damage and I have them flowering which is great news as I can eat some of these when they are done.

WP_20200725_15_35_23_Pro.jpg

My leeks were late going in, they are really not doing as well as I would have liked them to have been doing. I am hoping that they take off over the next few months ready for Christmas.

So there you have it, my friends. my allotment on the 25/7/2020. it has come on wonders since I took it on. I am hoping it gets better next year now I know what I am doing.

Until next time stay safe.

Sort:  

Beautiful garden.
Boss.. I'm ready for the post

cool, give me 3 hours to get mine together, as I can't find my photos of me doing the work. and then I have to script it too. won't be too long. :D

Ok...
I know you did a better job..
I cant wait to see it

I'll be posting it at 11 my time so in 2 hours I will have it on. then I will link it to yours and you do the same. :D

Ok..

I have posted my friend. :D