Confessions of a pizza delivery guy (that would be me) hehe

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

pizza-boxes-358029_1920.jpg

So as I have told you all before I have been ill, but for a while now I have felt like I have needed to get back into the work place and an opportunity came up. a friend has gone on holiday and asked if I would do his pizza delivery job while he is a way.
I was delighted at the fact he thought of me to do this for him but I was also scared, it's been years since I have worked and a few questions came running through my head.

:" what if I get robbed?"

:"what if I crash my car?"

:"what if I get lost?"

:"what if the boogie man comes and gets me?"

well, the last one never came into my head but as you can see from the other 3 I had a lot of negative thoughts running through my head.

So I said yes to helping out.

As I arrived at the pizza shop the manager shook my hand, he was polite and explained that it was an easy job, no stress take your time, don't break the law. which took a lot of pressure off me. I sat around for nearly an hour waiting for my first delivery and then the time came it was my turn to take the food. now I was so nervous I thought it would be 1 order at a time. No, it was 4 orders and was told to come back as soon as possible as they had another 4 ready for me. I chuckled in my head (no stress?????) so I loaded the car got my first ticket in my hand and off I went.

Now I have never worked pizza delivery before so I didn't know what to expect but I placed the address in the sat nav and off I went. Now, this pizza house has a 3-mile rule, if you are over 3 miles you have to pay delivery if it's under it's free.

My first delivery was about 3 miles from the shop I arrived and I was about 20 minutes before the time I needed to be there for so I was happy that I was early. I made my way to the front of the house, now I was a little stupid at the time as I was not really paying attention to what I was doing but on the wall next to the door was a sign saying "please use back door" I was just about to knock on the door when I saw this sign, so I turned around and with the pizza bag I knocked over there bin, it went with such a bang. There was rubbish rolling on the floor I was so embarrassed, I quickly picked it up and made my way around to the back door to deliver their food. They had no idea that it had happened but because I am polite I explained to them what had happened. Now they saw the funny side to it, the lady who's house it was gave me a £2 tip for telling her the truth. I was gob smacked that she had given me money.

The daylight soon faded and it became dark which made the job so difficult, my sat nav would take me to a road and the house number I was looking for was not there, I could not see the house numbers and to top it all off people would leave their dogs in the garden and I would get such a fright. finally, 12 am arrived and it was time for home. I was cashed up by the manager and was given my tips I had made £11 for a lot of hard work.

Now I know that it's the nature of the game and some ones got to do it, and in all fairness, I enjoyed my self-doing this for a favor but next time you order a takeaway please remember that some one has got to find your house. leave a light on to help us find you. and please (please please) make sure you lock your dogs away, they may be harmless but we don't know the temperament of your dog and this can make a delivery guys job so hard.

thanks for reading

Drew

the picture was taken from pixabay and is free to use. thanks