🌊🦈 🌊 Creativity with the sharks in the water

in #blog β€’ 6 years ago

cover.jpg

Photo credit to Michael Liao

The inspiration for this post came from a speaker at the most recent career day at our school. The speaker was Mart Noorma. Specifically, one sentence was the inspiration for this post and it was the following:

The best way to learn something new is to dive straight in without knowing anything.

The idea behind this is that if you're forced into a situation in which you have to "figure it out" then your learning pace is quicker than just learning for the sake of learning. It, of course, shouldn't be a life or death situation, but there should be consequences that are not negligible.

Creativity

This got me thinking about creativity and how my best work has come at the moment when I don't have a lot of time. I believe this is because my brain is then kicked into the mystical "work hard" mode, which helps me actually produce somewhat good work.

I've always had difficulties working ahead of time and I've done most things at the last minute. Part of this is usually "the panic monster" waking up, which kicks me off of my procrastinating ass into proper gear, but I think that I produce better work creatively when there are strict limits on what I can create. These limits can be of any kind: time, colour, shape, applications etc.

It's incredible what designers have been able to do in the past with limited resources and tools available to them. What they created has lasted for a long time and I think there's charm to that kind of logo - the timeless kind.

Conclusion

This is a collection of my thoughts on limiting creative processes and how those limits can actually help the process along. I hope you enjoyed this post and I look forward to the responses to the call to action!

Call to Action

Do you have examples of work that has been helped by the limits imposed on it?

Sort: Β 

I feel like grades are my biggest motivation in school right now and I feel like that shouldn't be the primary reason to do stuff. I do sometimes like doing things ahead of time, for example writing small essays or doing creative tasks in any subject. Deadlines are also quite a big motivation for me, but I don't feel very connected to big test dates rather than creative task deadlines.

I agree that deadlines are much more connected to the limiting factors in creative tasks rather than non-creative tasks, interesting observation!

Congratz man, you won in #minnowoftheweek check out the announcement and contact me on discord when you see this :)

Cheers!

Thank you so much, I need your discriminator (the 4 numbers after the #) to add you on steemit though!
The discord link in your thread doesn't go anywhere :(

This post has received a 0.11 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.