Life Update

in #blog6 years ago

How's life for you my fellow Steem Peeps? For those of you who follow me, you've probably noticed that I haven't posted much lately. I've taken a bit of a break from Steemit and actually almost all things computer for a bit. Kind of a "disconnect" break if you will. I think everyone should do that every now and then. It's far too easy to get so caught up with online life that we neglect offline life.

So what's new with you Brandon?

Well, first I'm considering going back to work. I spent the last year doing A LOT of self education and relaxing. But to be honest, I've also become a bit of a hermit and very much miss daily social interaction that you get from a job. A job also provides me better resources to perform research that I enjoy (at the expense of time of course). So, I'm in discussions right now about it, and exploring the idea. I'll let the world know more in a week or so.

I'm working on 2 projects right now, one of which might have potential as a product for my company. The first project is a chatbot. Not a Steemit bot or anything. I'm just really trying to wrap my head around the AI for a general purpose chatbot and trying to figure out how to push the boundaries of the existing methods used today for them. That is not the product I spoke of above.

The second project is that I'm in the design phase of building a robotic lawnmower. The kicker is that I don't want it to rely on perimeter wires at all. I really think that we have the technology to do that now and so I'm building a prototype. If I can get it working to my satisfaction (or even pretty close), then I'll consider a Kickstarter campaign to put it into production. I believe it can be done and I believe it can be done for well under $500 USD. Considering that almost all robotic lawn mowers command a price of $1000+, there's real potential to make this affordable, practical and usable to many households.

I know I've been quiet for a while, and I plan on posting a bit more now that I've taken my offline break. Thanks for dropping by :)