Fireflies and Mosquitos

in #blog6 years ago

I told the kids last night that if it wasn't raining we could go outside and catch lightning bugs today after it got dark. To be honest I was really hoping they would forget. It rained on and off all day today and it was just muggy and steamy... very bleh weather. But they did remember so I put my shoes and socks on and headed out.

We headed to the kitchen and grabbed some old jars and trekked out the back door to go hunting.

Abstract Thought. Since I was a kid we never bought tupperware containers. We always just saved plastic tubs and jars to reuse. It works out pretty good because if you leave leftovers in the fridge and they go bad you can just toss the container and not feel like you are wasting money. We even make it a point sometimes to buy small jars of things just so we can have the little jar when we are done. We also made a game out of it and when the kids want something to eat and there are leftovers they will eat we just say something like "Go have some sour cream" or "Go eat a tub of butter".

Anyway we head out and I'd be lying if I didn't say there were no less than 10 mosquitos on me within the first minute I walked out the door. So I'm standin there sweating because of the muggy air and swatting all these mosquitos off of me while trying to keep track of the little dog that followed me out. The kids are on the side of the house running around in their underwear catching fireflies and having a good ole time.

They definitely got the better deal tonight. I made them come in after only about 10 minutes because I just wasn't having a good time. I blamed the mosquitos and told them I'd go get some repellant tomorrow.

There was one spot that was freakin majestic. There's a big tree in the back yard and once I got close to it there were dozens of bugs in the leaves lighting it up like a Christmas tree.

Here's a picture to commemorate the tree even though you don't really see the lights.

20180608_214358.jpg

And here's a blurry pic of the boy running around in his tightie whities chasing bugs.

20180608_214047.jpg

Sort:  

Oh the memories. I could go on forever. Fireflies and lightening bugs are interchangeable names. A friend and I had a debate once and we looked it up! Fun.

Also recall a friend of a friend who came to Ohio to visit from Florida. I was maybe 17, she probably 20. To see a grown woman get ecstactic about seeing a lightening bug for the first time....I was amazed.

Side note....our son had a long time girlfriend who was comfortable at our home. She was helping in the kitchen one day, turned around from the fridge and politely asked if any if the butter containers in the fridge actually had butter in them. Guess she found the leftovers first.

It's beautiful that even though there are so many differences between each individual, we can still have some of the same memories and experiences. I love it!

Amazing how we find the commonalities and connect on certain things.

Congratulations @bulbit! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bulbit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @bulbit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!