How Writing Helped Me

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

People tend to look for things to do in order to cope up with things in life.

Especially when it seems like everything doesn't go your way. We do have different ways to carry on due to our distinctive personality. When things get out of the way, It's the best way to vent everything out.

I'm not a talkative type of person even to my family and friends since I preferred listening to them rather than do most of the talking. Not to mention that I love being with the people I cherish, it's just that I can't express myself freely as other people do. So I find it hard to share my thoughts with them.

When problems arose, pretending to be okay is always the first option for me. I'm one of those people who think sharing your problem won't solve everything. Besides, no one wants to be a burden to anyone.

To be honest, I wanted to be heard and share those problems as well but I don't know how to start. My thoughts are too disorganized, to begin with, and words just don't come out easily. So I tend to stay silent and just smile. But it stresses me out and it's eating me from the inside.

So as I grew up, I tried various ways to help myself overcome this fear of mine.

One thing that helped me cope up with daily stress is by writing. Not really sure how, but somehow I managed to realize that it's a lot easier to express my thoughts through writing. So basically, It became my friend when I'm in despair.

I used to write in my online journal and I always had a great feeling expressing myself freely in it without worrying about being judged by other people. Even if I know no one will ever read my journal, It's like someone is listening. I get the same feeling of sharing those thoughts and problems with a friend.

It also helped me organize my thoughts thoroughly and realize things in life. As I'm reading my previous entries in my journal, I can see my growth as a person. Those times brought me smile and tears but one thing is for sure, it helped me to become mature in a long run.

I guess it's true that: "Writing is a good way to let it out when you feel like you're stressed out and can't talk to anyone, this way nobody can't get mad or misunderstand you." - Anonymous

Sort:  

Congratulations @carlyp03! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!