Downloading and installing the Solar Coin wallet - A blog / how-to for Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I was introduced to solar coin by a friend of mine a while back who I knew was heavy into "the crypto". This was at a time in my life when I didn't have very much extra money, and was basically living paycheck to paycheck, saving very little and unable to afford the luxuries life reserves for the upper class and beyond.

This friend, we'll call Roosevelt, was not somebody I knew very well at the time. Roosevelt was introduced to me by a mutual friend of mine I've known my whole life. Because I value the opinion of this mutual friend very much, I simply threw caution to the wind and invested a relatively small amount of the money in SLR on Bittrex, which for me personally was about 50% of my net worth at the time.

In the weeks and months that followed, this decision to trust someone I barely knew proved to be an amazingly good one. Trading SLR swings, getting involved with the blockchain community, and learning about the many technologies that make the internet, and the world around us, tick, I made quite a bit of money, both in fiat and in crypto, but I also picked up something so much more valuable, to be honest. This friend ignited in me the desire to learn, share knowledge, and collaborate with others. I truly value this relationship and what it has taught me.

In the interest of sharing knowledge, I figured I'd do a short write up on something I use on a daily basis, the official Solar Coin wallet, brought to you by the Solar Coin foundation. For those of you who don't know, Solar Coin is a relatively new type of cryptocurrency, which I personally believe has a very bright future ahead. Not only does it have fast transaction time and extremely low fees, it's purpose is to create jobs, and a greener future for all. It was developed by Christopher Altman, who, among other things, holds the title of 'Director of the Board' at a government agency you may have heard of called NASA. Kind of a big deal.

Anyway, downloading and installing the Solar Coin wallet is one of the easiest things you can do on an Ubuntu box. I'm going to lay it down for you nice and simple. So sit back, relax, and get ready to nerd out in a big way. 1337.

The first step you'll want to take care of, as with any software install/config on a linux machine, is to update all applications:

sudo apt-get update

Next, download the solarcoin-qt wallet install files from the following location -
http://blockexplorer.solarcoin.org/downloads/SolarCoin_2.1.8_64bit.run

wget http://blockexplorer.solarcoin.org/downloads/SolarCoin_2.1.8_64bit.run

The solarcoin-qt wallet has only one dependency (libgstreamer-plugins-base0.10-0) that I know of, if Ubuntu was installed via default method, that is - you'll want to get this installed next:

sudo apt-get install libgstreamer-plugins-base0.10-0

Next you'll want to create a Solar Coin directory in your home folder:

mkdir ~/SolarCoin

Then, move the install file you downloaded to this newly created directory

mv SolarCoin_2.1.8_64bit.run ~/SolarCoin

Next, navigate to the newly created directory and make the install script itself executable

cd ~/SolarCoin
sudo chmod +x SolarCoin_2.1.8_64bit.run

Finally, run the wallet install script. This will install the solarcoin-qt wallet software and run it once:

./SolarCoin_2.1.8_64bit.run

You'll then be prompted to create a wallet password. Be sure to keep this password in a safe location, and remember that if you lose it, your Solar Coins are also lost. Remember - the more characters your password contains, the harder it would be for a malicious actor to steal your coins!

Make sure to back up your wallet file on a daily basis. I would recommend using something like rclone to sync local wallet data to the cloud. Check out this post I did recently on rclone to learn more:

https://steemit.com/blog/@chivesz/rclone-an-introduction-sync-files-to-the-cloud-with-ease

Thanks for checking out my post. Feel free to comment below if you have questions. Cheers!


Solar Coin Foundation
https://www.solarcoin.org

Solar Coin paper wallet generator
https://solarcoinwallet.com/

Solar Coin blockchain explorer
https://chainz.cryptoid.info/slr/

Source:
Ye olde cerebrum


© http://www.titantp.com


scoinsz.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Chivesz from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

SolarCoin is a cryptocurrency that is identified by the symbol SLR.Best coin under $1

I receive SLR as a reward for my home solar production. I was wondering if someone could run the wallet on their computer if they aren’t registered to receive the reward from the foundation. I guess you answered my question. Are you also staking to earn the 2% interest on your SLR?

I am. I buy low, and sell high, with the intention of generating more solar coins. I also stake when holding. Unfortunately I don't have any solar. Congrats on going green!

What exchange are you using to buy and sell SLR?

As a guy who can't get solar at home but wants too much help this kind of energy production... I'll definitely look into SLR! Thank you @chivesz without your commentary I wouldn't have stepped into this... I think that's how steemit works, anyway