Away from HOME episode3

in #blog5 years ago (edited)


source

Frank called my name he said Coffmann, never make a promise you would never keep and don't expect everyone to keep their promise.

The night before Tony left for ITALY, as narrated by Frank and written in my own words.

Frank started with a sigh of disappointment, then he said

I only wish he never said those words. He told me not to bother myself, he said the next farming season is all I have left in Ghana. He made me understand that no matter how difficult it might seem he would make enough money and bring me on. He told me to live everyday with no fear, he said he would bring me in and we would make it big.
Tony was the happy guy on the plane the following day but he left as much joy and happiness in my belly.


source

He finally left, I got no call from Tony. Back then there was only a GSM terminal or should I call it a business center in our community, about 2 other communities share the same channel as a means to communicate with their families far away.

If you have any one who could reach out to you through this GSM terminal, you were among the very few people in this three community that had a family member abroad. The respect that comes with this is so highly rated. After he left, I kept going to the GSM terminal each day to know if he had called, I was very sure he couldn't have misplaced the number because we wrote it in almost every page, even on a part of his ticket, I remember writing it on his inner ( like singlet)
We understood that if at any point he misplaces that number, we become forever lost and disconnected in this big world and we might never meet again.
I was at the GSM terminal for the second day again after he left, but the was still no calls.
I tried reaching out to the family of Mr Ababio to give me, Mr Ababio Italian number but they refused. By the fourth day, I became very worried only to get to the terminal at about 10:30 am, then Pa Americana that's the man that runs the GSM business centre told me that my brother called some minutes to 9am. And said he will call about the same time the following day and insisted that we shouldn't try placing a call back to the line.

source

I really wanted to call back but the man made me understand that it might be risky and the call might put my brother in trouble, coupled with the fact that he already promised my brother with a swear not to call the number back.
I went home with a relief and a serious anticipation for the following day.

Cut out......

What more can I say the story is still far away from HOME. Real life experience as narrated by the man in the story.
Please drop comments and tell others to come around.
Watch out for episode 4.

Sort:  

Congratulations @coffmann! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @coffmann!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 6 with $ 3,83

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on the Steem blockchain, consider to vote for my witness!