A TRIP TO MEXICO 🌴🌞🌴 - Thoughts on BITCOIN and the LIGHTNING NETWORK

in #blog6 years ago

Buenos Dias Amigo’s!

Today I want to take you on my trip to Mexico and share some thoughts I had on the integration of the Lightning Network, while talking to other Crypto Enthusiasts and a former Bank employee of JP Morgan.

Mostly when going away from my routine and getting some space between the daily distractions and myself I start to think about the nature, life and the future.

Same happened during the last 6 days while enjoying Mexico.
It was a trip to break out of the flat and university for a few days and clean up all thoughts in my head while doing some mediation and talking to internationals.

Here are some moments I captured from my trip to share them with you:

1.jpg

Oh damn … Is there something better than a good beer and some deeper conversations? :D

111.jpg

11.jpg
LA ISLA in Cancun - This is basically a center of pure tourism ... many little shops who try to sell you something. But at least they were always super polite, friendly or funny 👍

11111.jpg

1111.jpg
This is a Paloma - Juice with two Tequila shoots, Ice and a bit of Salt - very delicious ! 😎

20180305_155623.jpg
And for sure we ate lots of Burritos during our stay in Mexico !

111111.jpg
Here you can see Chichen Itza - one of the 7 new wonders of the world. 😉
I would definitely recommend you a trip there as it represents a major part of the history of the Mayas.

Coming back to my thoughts about the Lightning Network ...

Now I sat there on the ocean and thought about paying my beer with Bitcoin … totally aware that I am holding the future of payment in my hands. But unfortunately, it isn’t the reality at this point as it doesn’t make much sense for the business and customer to use a more expansive and slow version compared to cash and credit or debit cards.

Sitting there and started a conversation with my mate about the Lightning Network.

We realized that this “Upgrade” would be the major step towards mass adoption of at least one Cryptocurrency.

But before getting into the Lightning Network I want to share another thought with you:
I am convinced to say that we need a place for banks and governments within the Crypto space to work together and not against each other. These institutions are way too powerful to try working against them ... Furthermore, it can make the life of all human beings so much easier if Governments and Banks are integrating these new Technologies within the next years to speed up e.g. transactions and reduce costs, while improving their efficiency. (Looking forward to your thought about it! 😊)

Most of the population is trusting banks and Governments as they are around since forever … and this is another critical point. Imagen if we are using this trust to get people more familiar with Bitcoin & Co. And here I really want to encourage you to think outside of the box that Crypto Supporters are against established institutions! Just give it a shot and tell me your opinion!

And now we are getting to the Lightning Network:
The Lightning Network as an off-chain Solution creates space for big institutions like Banks to provide the Network with a necessary amount of liquidity.

This would make the Network:

• more reliable,
• trustworthy for Newcomers and
• would bring in a decent amount of Cash as well.

Banks would be able to collect micro fees for payments going through their channel on the lightning Network and therefore would be able to participate in a new emerging market.

At least to us it sounded like a model for banking in the future … What do you Think? Do we had too much sun while thinking in this direction or does it sound like a possible situation to you?

🚨 I would love to hear your thoughts about it! 🚨

Crypto2Go - DTube
Crypto2Go - Instagram

Sort:  

Hi, I upvoted and followed you :)

Follow back and we can help each other succeed! @hatu
My latest post

Hey @hatu,
Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I would be really interested in supporting each other, if you can tell me what you are passionate about here on steemit? :)