Adventure to Losing Weight -- My Yoyo Stories of Neverending Weightgain

in #blog6 years ago

lose-weight-1968908_1920.jpg

Now You Lose It, Now Ya Don't!

Throughout my life, I've had trouble losing weight. It's a common story in our society that runs on fast food and quick eats. How can you turn down a juicy burger, fries, and a drink for the low price of $5.00, $9.00 if you want a little more taste at a nice Whataburger... ;). Yet, many people go through life without ever budging, finding stability in their maintenance of weight by other means such as staying active on a favorite sport, focusing on maintaining a generally healthy body or even enjoying the control he/she has over what they put in their body. Regardless of the reason, there is a goal in mind that keeps you on the task at hand.

If there is a goal that people set to keep their stability of their health throughout life, that means that there are obvious obstacles that exist for those of us who aren't able to get there.

So, let's go and probe some of the many issues that can plague your life and the ones that have directly affected me.

To start, I will go over the main two that have affected me due to the insight I can apply to those problems.

Sleep Deprivation Can Be A Sneaky Culprit

If you struggle to maintain a stable sleeping schedule, it might be contributing to the onslaught of devouring you're having at night and even throughout the day. It makes sense, doesn't it? You are up and about a lot more meaning you want that little bit of energy. Moreover, if you're up and not fasting while you sleep, you will keep thinking of when the next meal will get there, likely later in the day the next day since you are up really late at night. On top of that, sensors in your brain are higher, specifically cortisol, which adversely affects your appetite. Since you are now hungrier, that means you are going to get an extra 400-800 calories by snacking late at night, IT WILL ADD UP.

This was an issue I never dreamed of affecting my weight gain and now that I recognize it, I can focus on sleeping earlier and even sought medical counsel to better my daily life. In my case, meds were necessary.

Keep an open mind on what might be an obstacle, you never know what is making weight loss an even more difficult endeavor.

I'm freaking out HERE!!!!!!

Another biggie for me was stress levels.

Stress eaters, shout out to my fam out there, know what can happen if you pass by your favorite restaurant. We find comfort in the yummy foods and just can't seem to have enough once we get started. It feels nice to have some peace and quiet while you eat, and I certainly sought out many foods during finals weeks to try and make myself feel better. Yet, when you're done, you only find pity and self-depreciating thoughts in your head. It's a vicious cycle with no end.

What worked for me was trying to take out the parts of my life that really shouldn't be there and add to the stress of it all. Netflix? OUT! I can spend some time on the work I need for the day and thus reduce my stress. DO IT.

Kick the useless and bring the useful like gym workouts. A good sweat and the increase of the feel good hormones will keep you coming back.

Do you have a problem that you need to fix? Tell me in the comments!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptotortoise! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cryptotortoise! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!