Be Good and Do Good

in #blog7 years ago

People often say "do good and good will come to you, do good and you will receive merit, do good and you will go to heaven", it mainly serves the purpose to encourage people to do good which is good. People also often say "do good and don't tell others, don't post it on social media, otherwise the purpose of doing good is gone and it feels good to sincerely do good", it is to encourage people to have a selfless, pure and sincere heart when doing good. All of this is good, as long as people are doing good it's good. Good! end of story, just do good things.

I do have something to share though, my own thinking that we as human should do good things like giving to charity, helping others in need, etc, and I feel that we should help others as something that we need to do and we want to do. As I've said before, as long as you do good it's good, but wouldn't it be better if we can do good without expecting something in return like getting the merit, going to heaven, and even feeling good. I used to like to help others before by action and donation, every time after I do good I feel very good, there is this surge of feeling of gladness inside me that makes me happy that I've helped another and would think about it afterwards and feel good. I rarely tell anyone that I did something good for I felt like it is not the right thing to do. There is a moment that I like the feeling of doing good so much that I keep on doing good things, then I face upon a realization that hit me hard, I began questioning myself whether I am doing good just to feel good. I began questioning my pureness and sincerity of helping others.

My starting goal of helping others is because it's something that I want and need to do, something that I sincerely and purely want to do. I talked to myself and thought hard about it which leads me to a decision, I am no longer going to think about the good deeds I do even just minutes after it, after I help someone I'm gonna forget about it. I am going to block off this good feeling of doing good, I will make this doing good as a part of my life that there is nothing to feel good about. After a few years of doing so, I still feel a bit good after helping others but don't think to much about it, I am no longer going to do good because it felt good but because it's what I want and need to do. I don't know whether this is the right thing to do for everyone, but for me personally it is the right thing for me to do. I never told this to anyone for I want others to have the motivation to do good things, some people do good to receive the good things after and I don't want them to follow my thought and end up not doing good anymore because there is no reward for them after.

I do share it here just for sharing purpose, I sincerely hope everyone will do good to others, be it for any purpose or rewards after. I have received some good thoughts, care and encouragement from steem users and hope that it will continue to spread in this steem community.

Untitleda.png