I made my first Game.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

The beginning of college

A student of computer science college. The first year I was thinking of different kinds of things that will suit me and I'll enjoy making, I was thinking of different kinds of ideas of making different kinds of programs.
From there I had an idea of making apps, it made sense since everyone today uses a smartphone and why not make a good app that people can enjoy using and make a living out of it.
I started researching about apps and I was amazed at how much income an app can generate if it is popular enough, it was all great but... I had 0 ideas of what kind of app I wanted to make.

It wasn't going very well

The first semester of college was good I was learning all kinds of new stuff and really enjoying it until the exams came along. I wasn't getting good grades and really got demotivated from all the failed exams I had. I started to learn Java for my next exam and learned from 3 to 5 hours without stopping and realized that I learned half of the things it took 6 weeks for the professor to teach, I was very proud of myself. The time came to attempt the exam, I did not wake up in time and failed again.
But I wasn't depressed, I realized I could learn Java faster than they were teaching me in college.

Cryptocurrency

Since I failed to attempt the exam I started learning Java by myself and trying to come up with different ideas for apps and college was not so interesting anymore. Then I thought to myself why not make a game, I was always a fan of games and seeing how popular games on smartphones were getting I was motivated to make one. But then crypto-currency came along, I invested in bitcoin and started trading, it really got me out of the idea of making a game, all the time I was doing research about bitcoin, altcoins, blockchain technology and everything that had to do with crypto-currency.
Sometimes I lost but I did profit a lot from it.

Going back

After a while trading and all that stuff, I went out with a friend and he started telling me how he wants to make a game someday in the future and telling me some ideas. I realized it had been two years that I haven't thought about making a game. As soon as I got home I downloaded Unity and started to learn how it works and what can I do with it.

The game

After a month of trying to make a game, I did one, which is not so good but I did it. I'm going to tell you a little about the game:

4.jpg

So the idea behind this game was everytime a blue cube hits a red one that blue cube is destroyed and a red one is added, I had so much trouble making it but somehow, I did it.
It is an arcade game, very simple and fun to play.
Its only available for android phones for now but soon enough I'm going to upload for iPhones.
This is that good of a game but I plan to keep getting better at it and someday making a game that will be played worldwide, hopefully.

This was a long post, if you read it all, thank you and I hope you liked reading it.