Thoughts on Steemit after 18 days

in #blog7 years ago

I have been wanting to do a post like this for awhile now, since the first week actually. But I wanted to get a pretty decent feel for it first. I wanted to get a few post under my belt, see how the earnings worked for a few days, get the feel for the community, etc. And wow how time flies.

time flies.png

I will start by saying that the community here really is pretty great. It is extremely diverse, you seem to have something for everyone. Most everyone here from what I can tell seems to be able to have a conversation whether they agree or not is another thing, but they hear each other out. Everything is out in the open and I think that is a great thing, it promotes being polite but still holding your ground and getting to say what you like. Some one put it best "Steemit is like a headless mob." It really does police itself.

I started in Steemit because in my opinion it is a good investment if not for the short term but for the mid to long term for sure. Everyone loves to communicate and Steemit is a much better place for that because if actually rewards the creator rather then a board or CEO. But what I found is so much more then that. I find myself posting when I post because I love to post. It isn't about what you earn or how fast you earn it but the connection that you make with people. When you hop on hoping that one of your favorites has made a post so you can read it and be filled in, give them an upvote, and a comment and keep the conversation going. It really does fall back to community, its engaging and strong, and should only be getting stronger. Which would wrap back around to bigger profits.

community.jpg

I have never been one for social media before this one and a little in twitter so I don't really know what I expected coming in. But what I find was very pleasant indeed. We have so much content at our finger tips on this platform and it only seems to get better and more plentiful. As new people are introduced to the platform and they start to get a feel it will only get more vibrant. I have seen and read some amazing content that I was not expecting to find, from short stories, to absolutely mind blowing art, to the short but funny meme. Its nice to just relax and lose yourself in the community driven content that's ever expanding.

Our world quote.jpg

I won't drag it out much longer. I am having a great time on Steemit and making a little money in the process. I see Steemit getting stronger as we go, slow and steady pace seems to the the Steemit way. The grind is a pleasant and fun one, and I look forward every day to logging in and seeing what people have created while I am away.

Thanks for reading. Keep creating, keep helping the little guys, and just keep being great. This community really is what this is all about, everything else just a bonus. The people here are fantastic. We create Steemit in the image we want to see.

upvote follow resteem gif.gif

Sort:  

I signed up last year. I actually in begining didn't see alot of diversity. definately alot of crypto minded people from very beginning and still now. This year I noticed there is alot more diversity, more art and music and more spam lol. I hope we continue to grow together and learn from each other. I think most people join intrigued by the potential to make profit. They realize it's not so easy. I signed up because I believed in the idea of decentralization and I wanted to keep it going.

Agreed but it only starts for the money. I think some will stick for the love of posting or just commenting on posts they like.

This post received a 4.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @dreamwalkerd! For more information, click here!