HOW TO - Lawn Mower Tune Up!

in #blog6 years ago

Time for a tune up!


Mower running rough or not starting? Maybe it's time for a tune up! Pretty much every year at the beginning of season you should be giving your mower a proper tune up. This consists of new spark plug, air filter, oil change, fuel filter change (if applicable), and a new blade or sharpen your old one. As you may have seen here, today I spent a little time at wally world and walked out with 4 air filters, 4 spark plugs, 3 bottles of oil, a new blade, and 3 cans of carb cleaner for a few mowers I am preparing to put on the market. Here's how some of that is done!


It is super easy to do a tuneup on almost anything. Mowers especially! I began by replacing the spark plug. I simply removed the boot and used a 5/8" spark plug socket to remove it. Socket size may will vary.
IMG_20180527_113524.jpg

It looks like it hasn't been changed in awhile, there was quite a bit of burnt gunk on it.
IMG_20180527_113635_1.jpg

After screwing a new one in and putting the boot back on, I moved on to the air filter. This one took a 8mm bolt I had to unscrew, then the housing came off.
IMG_20180527_113529.jpg

IMG_20180527_113545.jpg

Again, hasn't been replaced in a while. This was actually after I banged it off some.
IMG_20180527_113723.jpg

Moving onto the oil. Some mowers have drains, some people just turn them upside down, but I prefer to use a baster or a fluid transfer pump. (I may or may not have forgotten to take a picture of this..oops.) When putting new oil in just put a bit in and check periodically. Mine took about half a quart.


source

Lastly, sharpening the blade or changing it. Sharpening can be done with a grinder or file. Some people say it has to be balanced, but I have never had a problem with not doing that. Changing/removing the blade is super easy. Typically only one bolt in the middle and it is off. (Guess I forgot to photograph this too...I'll try better next time!)

source

That's really all there is to it! My mower did not have an oil filter or fuel filter, so I did not have to replace those parts. It may be different for you though! Stay tuned for more!


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  
Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Hi @drobinson!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with steemmakers - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV