Hive is home / on my disappearance / on my future

in #blog4 years ago (edited)

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmkXxXo6eSLyNhLFNsW8Nszy26ZpCmquNNV58eKhV2VjMczHC5RNynnkikAsiT.png

It took me less than 3 hours to realize that Hive is home. Steemit although not dead, is not the place I remember. I'm glad to see familiar faces around here and I'm looking forward to catching up on the changes that have happened. As well as the vision for the future. I loved Steemit, it was a grand experiment. From my little time here on Hive it appears this is where the good parts of the experiment ended up. So I started my power down of Steem. I will keep my hive and try to accumulate. I will also try to add as much value as possible with the little free time I have. Thanks for trying to give us the community we want to everyone involved in the Hive network. All the familiar faces, and the new ones.

I was very active on Steemit for a long time. I talked to people about it, I tried to get people to join and tried to reward people in it for doing good charitable things. I posted often. Not that my posts were good. I tried, it took my time.. and I was rewarded by meeting really good people, and bring able to have good conversations in the comments of my posts as well as other people's posts. However slowly the inner politics kept pulling me in.. all the drama between this Steem group and that Steem group.. between Bernie Sanders and Haejin. It all became too much for me, what was I doing wasting my time downvoting people who I thought didn't have the best interest of the block chain in their minds. Even though I still feel like I was on the right side, that's not what I was here for. I was here to build community, to add what I could, and to encourage people. That all got lost and I pushed it out of my life. I got busy working a new job and didn't have time for the negativity I was seeing on steemit. So I disappeared and I'm sorry to the people who I considered friends here, and to the people who posts I enjoy And I Should have still been here supporting with my small stake. I'm sorry.

Im back now. I will probably never be as active as I was on Steemit at one point. But I will be here posting somewhat regularly. I will be in your comments, watching your game streams, appreciating your art. I feel as though I forgot how to write like I used to. I don't know where I will find to fit in to this new home that feels so old and familiar. Thanks for keeping the lights on here everyone. It's good to be back.

Sort:  

Welcome back!

Thanks yo. Glad you're still around too. It's nice to see lots of familiar faces over here. It helps me feel at home. Like I'm not completely starting over lol

The Hive launch was quite dramatic. Most of the prominent English-language content creators, the app devs, and old witnesses switched right away, and it felt like home from day 1. Meanwhile, STEEM has been a train wreck of spam and internal corruption. I have recently been using @swap.app to trade my STEEM for HIVE bit by bit when the exchange rate is favorable.

Ahh, crazy. Sounds like it was exciting times lol! My first power down is tomorrow, and I will just get rid of it right away I'm thinking. Get myself some more hive, and some leo for fun.

I use the Digital Currency Widget on Android to track the Bittrex exchange rates for HIVE and STEEM on Bittrex and try to trade a bit at a time when prices are to my advantage with STEEM above HIVE. Not as fast, obviously, and a risky waiting game. But so far, so good.

wow, yeah, steemit deleted my entire blog! no need to go back there.
WElcome back!

Wait not only your coins, but your entire blog? That's horrible. You out so much time, and effort in to it, and into Steem. That sucks :( I'm sorry!!

Did it all transfer to here or was it deleted before the fork?!

it all transferred to hive.
i did not lose my coins, only my entire blog on steemit.
justin sun censored and deleted tons of people's blogs.

to me the hive chain seems more....calm..like less drama

we are building again in stead of handling old clashes..it helps!

I've noticed the lack of drama, and I like it. Building together is good, dividing and conquering is bad.. and Steem had a lot of that going on when I was there.

Nice to meet you though, I'm sure I will see you around!