life is almost good - Welcome!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)



Evie feeling all the way good.

So you’ve wandered into my blog. Welcome! I’m glad to have you. What was that line in Hotel California? You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave? Muahahaha….

Just kidding.

My name is Lindee. I am thirty-one years old. I have a husband, who we will call J. He is wonderful. J and I have two sons. J.M. is eleven and R is eight. We also have two dogs, Oliver and Eve, and two cats, Hermione and Rose.

I am currently an Administrative Manager at a small but mighty accounting firm. That journey is coming to an end soon, after nearly five years. (You’ll hear more about this in my next blog post called The Times They Are A-Changin'

You see, I was almost good at it.

At age 31, I have only just found what I’m all the way good at. That’s why I’m here.

My almost good story begins in high school. I was quite awkward and though I had plenty of friends, I wouldn’t really say I belonged with any particular group.

I was almost good at choir. Almost. I couldn’t dance. I wasn’t even almost good at that. I was almost a good vocalist. I was good enough to win medals in individual competitions, but I wasn’t really good enough for solos, leads, or to really make a difference in the choir. Others were so much better.

I was almost good at school work. I just kind of skated by. I almost did good in all of my classes and almost did good in my clubs.

I was almost good at college. But because I wasn’t really good at it, I dropped out.

I met J shortly after that. We fell hard and fast and were married within months. Naturally, everyone thought we were crazy. Too young, too foolish and with no experience in the real world. They were totally right, by the way. But we made it work.

Thirteen years later, life is almost good.

I’m here to tell you stories of my journey as an almost good wife, an almost good mom, an almost good friend, daughter, employee, cook, and the many other things I’m almost good at.

The reasons I’ve decided to make a public blog out of my stories are:

A) My good friend ES said I should, and she is an incredibly influential person in my life.

B) I have heard many friends talk about feeling the same way and we can chat about that here!

C) Compassion, talking, writing, and listening are things I am good at, and it is time for me to make a life out of something I am all the way good at.

What are you all the way good at? What do you wish you were all the way good at?

Thank you for reading. I hope you will come back again soon.

– L –

Sort:  

Welcome to this awesome community @elle-vee I'm happy to read your story. I wish you all the best as well as with your married life and see you around. =)

Thank you!!
Cheers!
Lindee

Welcome! We're glad to have you. I am also 31 - it still feels a little weird to say that. I am good at literature, writing, and rambling about both subjects. My journey as an adult has been to learn more about the things I am good at and some things that I am only almost good at. There are a few things I've learned that I'm not even close to being almost good at. The self-discovery has been good though.
I hope that you enjoy Steemit, and I look forward to reading more from you..

queenvick: Let me first say; yas queen!

A+ for rambling! Self-discovery is what it's all about, right? Thanks so much for the comment and I am grateful for your feedback. Cheers! Lindee

Welcome! I definitely could relate to a lot of what you said about "almost" being good at something. For me it's always been "almost" and "the wrong time." Ironically, I too have found myself in an accounting office (but not as an actual accountant, just sort of an administrator/bookkeeper). I gave you a follow and look forward to your posts! Good luck to you!

millenialnow: I'm glad you can relate. I absolutely get the wrong timing situation. Timing is everything. So interesting to come across someone who also has experience with accounting/bookkeeping/administration! It's a complex role and is unfortunately, typically overlooked. Cheers to you and your journey! Lindee

Welcome to Steemit! Evie is so cute :)

Thank you!
Cheers
Lindee


Welcome to Steem @elle-vee.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hi @elle-vee ! Great post, i like it, i just upvoted it ! PS: you may like to follow me ... @legsnheels

Thanks, legsnheels. I appreciate the upvote. Cheers! Lindee