You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cutting to the chase: what makes for interesting conversation?

in #blog3 years ago

Do you dance? Or like dancing to the music?
I made the experience that I got to know someone pretty good through seeing how he danced and moved to the music. But then, we didn't talk that much anyways when we were young. Clubbing and celebrating the weekends meant exactly that: a minimum of words and a maximum of fun. :D

Apologies for my not so serious response. I quite liked your thoughts.

Sort:  

I love dancing, actually. I'm not a good dancer, but I dance any chance I get. And yes, you can definitely get to know someone through the way they dance, more so than through conversation, since you get to see them more unhinged, more honest. Well, sometimes. In my limited clubbing experience, nowadays most people seem to mimic the same set of movements, so as to not stand out. But yes, that's a great way to learn things about another person :) Thank you.

Very welcome :) and of course, people can do their dance in a more strategic than open and self enjoying way. But then, you'll sense that, too. My best encounters were when I was so happy with dancing that others joined in and put all their pleasure into it, too. So we got to know each other by non verbal communication. There was a field of connection which is hard to describe.