What Would you do if Your Hive Blog Posts had ZERO Upvotes or Comments?

in #blog8 months ago

I had my share of them when I first started out on Steemit, and some that only received attention long after the 7-day payout period had passed. The short answer for me to an EXTENDED drought like that, might be longer intervals between posts, but I don't think I'd stop.

If it happened as a result of some sort of structural change or problem with Hive preventing many of us from publishing, that might be something altogether different.

But if it was based on some sort of organized attempt at shunning due to nationality, race, political opinion, culture, or some other such nonsense; I'm pretty peer-pressure resistant as a result of being a shunned outcast (as anomadsoul once said :) as a child due to my then handicap, so I wouldn't let that affect me.

It's amazing how adversity can buttress you with effects that come in handy throughout your life, as its done for me. This post was prompted as I took a tour of Hive and noticed the collapse in activity on even some of the once well-populated authors.

To me, its just another cycle where what I call 'The Boomerang Bloggers' flee when the price drops, only to suddenly reappear when it starts rising again. You can't build a thriving community around such fickle blockheads like that, that's why its all the more important that we LOYAL regulars, pitch in and support each other in their absence.

Why are you Blogging in the First Place?

I wrote about why we blog recently, and there has to be something else driving you when you don't have that base of support. For me, each post that I write for Hive, whether it gets support or not, makes my writing better on the other platforms where I am much better compensated for my efforts.

I find that during this crypto-drought, I'm able to write thoughtful posts much more quickly than I could before. Ones that used to take 6 hours to write, I can complete in half that time now, without a loss of quality. That's a result of challenging myself by writing for several outlets, and having to create content instead of watching a movie.

Now, I can get to movietime much faster. :)

Like an athlete training in the off-season, our content creation muscles need to be continually used in order to remain in tip-top shape. So to me, that's the silver lining in these cloudy times; and if you have an eye to see, you'll recognize that there are silver linings in view all around us.

If you found that this post added value or inspired you, please share an upvote or reblog, thanks! :)

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1, 2

Sort:  

Carry on of course, otherwise you just let down and die

A very successful Hive veteran who specializes inlong-form content, told me recently to "Work when others wont" and he's right of course. Also, I still receive interaction on Hive posts I wrote months and even YEARS ago, when I share them on Twitter, as Google indexes not only the original posts; but the tweets about them as well! So somebody's seeing them somewhere! :)