My Stupid Mistake and Sky Of Smoke

in #blog4 years ago

Yesterday some massive smoke layers came to Estonia from wildfires that burn in southern Russia and the sky looked pretty dark. I decided to go to the beach and take a shot of the sun that was visible as a circle.
Since I wasn't at home and needed to quickly get my camera I drove as fast as I could to home and grabbed my camera. The camera bag was heavy enough and I didn't check if the camera was in it. Of course, when I arrived at the beach and opened the bag, only my big lens was in but no camera body. Well shit... that was quite a disappointment.
Since you don't see the sun like this every day I took a couple of shots with my phone with a shit camera.

20201002_181725.jpg

The sky is actually clear and there were no clouds beside the smoke ones. Pretty crazy how it turns the sky gray and make the sun visible like this. We could even smell the smoke in the air, can imagine that this cant be very healthy.

20201002_181739.jpg

Let's hope the wildfires are gone soon enough and the smoke cant find its way all the way from Russia to here. Today its clear blue sky!




Untitled1.png

Sort:  

I think I saw the smoke-hazy sky already the evening before yesterday! And it's pretty interesting how when you look at the smoke gray sky - it kind of looks like a regular cloudy day but there is something about it unexplainable that gives it away it's not clouds but smoke!

Yeah, the smoke has been in this area quite some days now.
The sun especially gives away that this is smoke. Also, the color is a little bit different than an ordinary gray sky.

opa postitad romantsi ka.

Muidugi 😀

That haze doesn't look too bad so far, but I hope the fires get put out soon enough. As a Malaysian, seeing a hazed-up skyline is something we see too much of, unfortunately...

image.png

This is due to pollution ?

Yep, which is certainly very unfortunate. It's either pollution from all the congestion in the city, or haze carried in the winds, moving away from burnt fields in Indonesia. Good thing it's been raining often enough these days to clear up the smog.