Bad, bad steemian - please don't make a fool of yourself

in #blog6 years ago

Hi, guys!

It's been a long time since I last did such post, so perhaps the time had came to talk a few about it again. 

Spam comments, huh?

 Image credit

I used to get annoyed about them a lot. Earlier. Now I also don't like them, but enough time passed to make me realize that there's not much of productive ways to fight them. So nowadays I usually have such pic under my posts: 10 comments, for example, and I see four. Cause I muted all the rest, and I know what is said there. "Nice art/post", all the time.

Some ask me "Isn't it pleasant for you to hear that your art/post in nice?". 

NO.

It is not. Even more them that - if I write about something personal, or really sad - such comment means that you just came to my home in dirty boots. Once I had a post about Stephen Hoking. I just wrote a few words about what his personality meant exactly for me, for a girl who never was good in physics and who just found out a little bit more about universe thanks to his book. It was the day of his death, by the way. You guess, what the first comment was? You're right. Was it relevant? Absolutely not.

At the moment I notice that more and more spam-fighting accounts appear on steemit. And yesterday I noticed among the comments to one of my posts an answer from @abusereports, that said:

 "@(the name of steemian here) you're on the @abusereports naughty list!
If you do not stop, your account will be rendered invisible on Steemit. Bad Steemian! Bad! "

Now that's cute. It sound like "Bad dog!". And you know, what? By writing the same comment to multiple posts over and over again you don't acquire anything. Neither success on the platform, nor friendship. You just make a fool of yourself and make the others think that your intellectual level is somewhere below normal.

I usually vote for my commentators. Not always I answer comments, but I vote more for them. Or for commentators posts. Ad doing this I usually don't click the "follow" button if the commentators content is not in my sphere of interests. Comment, if it's valuable and on topic - is, but content - not always. So I react with a vote exactly on comment. And here another funny tendency starts - some people notice it, and then begin just spamming all my posts along with "nice", expecting the same reaction from me. And this is even more sad.

I am on the platform for over a year, putting effort in my posts every day. The main thing for newbies to understand is that's about effort and about making friends here to reach something, not about spamming. Spam will not give you anything except down-votes and shame.

P.S. See the banner below? It was not made accidentally. Just remember that for most artists "nice art" is an offense.

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Instead of fighting spam with new accounts and asking for delegations , best way is to leave it and not cause more coercion

Coercion? Sorry, English is not my native:(

Friend, for days I was thinking about this, I also realized that there are many people who do not contribute anything to the community. Which I find unpleasant, just copy and paste some content, leaving nothing original. That seems a little crazy to me. because for me it does not make sense. I thought there should be a means of spam control in steemit. Because like many I try to make an effort in my publications even when they are simple, most of the time I do not have much time to do them as I would like, but I always try to improve, as with the comments I do not like to leave comments that do not contribute nothing, if I have nothing good to offer better I do not comment. It is my way of seeing. So see that others make spam seems to me a complete lack of respect.

They expect that in such way they'll get some votes, or followers... Or I don't know what. Well, may be sometimes it works in a short term, but never for the long one. And there's no chance to explain it to them.

Perhaps a list with all the spam commentators would be interesting. Other users could copy the list and mute these users as well.

Well, it exists, but it's like a living organism. And probably this organism is Hydra.

Good to know someone is at least trying to come to terms with it. Can you tell me where to find this list? Thanks!!

I do pretty much the same thing. I upvote genuine comments, ignore the ones with no substance, and flag the spam.

I always check the users comments before I flag anything because there is a growing number of people who's English is just not good. They may be trying to be genuine but it looks like spam.

I do the same. And flag if I see that it's Ctrl+C Ctrl+V to multiple posts

It would have been nice if all replies to the spammer were also hidden or collapsed along with their comment.

I do see their comment being hidden but not the bot flagging and commenting how naughty they have been. :)

Sometimes there're really funny comments be bots:)

It was funny the first time, heck even the fifth time. But imagine if you get 5 different spammers on your post. Would that mean 5 different "Bad Steemian! Bad" comment :)

P.S.: I am not a bot :(

I really appreciate what you say here, I agree with what you say is a reality. I am grateful to be able to add to my knowledge of your experience in steemit. I think here is not just about how to find a reputation but looking for a good friendship mutually supportive and motivating it will be more beautiful. because without effort our hard work can not achieve anything. apologize if there is a word that is not polite from my explanation. thank you for sharing inber take care yourself & have a good day :)

Some individuals ar very helpless. there's nobody to inform them the pain, pain and pain. a number of their unthinkable things stay within the heart, and a few recollections - it becomes a time in sighs.

...... What?! Oh, I see! You're SPAMMING THE POST ABOUT SPAMMING!!!!