Ask an Herbalist Video 1: My Story & Favorite Medicinal Plant

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I'm starting a video series called "Ask an Herbalist," where I create short videos to answer your simple questions on plant medicine and natural healing. The first video in this series answers a couple of questions from a facebook follower called Zanna, who asks, "What is your #1 must have in your holistic medicine cabinet? Why did you go on a path of clinical herbalism? Does it run in your family?"

I wasn't satisfied with how close up I was able to get in showing you the ribbing on plantain leaves. This is what that strong vertical ribbing looks like. Note that there's really no side veinage at all. The lines are strongly vertical.

Plantain Close-up.jpg

Close-up of a plantain leaf. This is one of the narrow-leaved varieties of the Plantago genus.

You can read more about plantain and other backyard weeds here.

I also promised that I'd include links to my full story of how I was put on the path to becoming a clinical herbalist, and to some of the how-to articles that I've written. They are here:

My Story
How to Make an Herb Infused Oil
How to Make a Water-Based, Full Strength Infusion

I'm pretty excited about this project, and invite you to post your questions in the comments section. If I can answer it quickly, then I might make you a video!


Editor's note: Information contained in this article is not meant to be a diagnosis for any medical condition or serve as medical treatment or medical advice of any kind. You own yourself, and are solely responsible for the safety of you and your children. Neither Prairie Hawk Botanica nor Jennifer Capestany will be responsible for injury.


Author: Jennifer Capestany

Jennifer is a clinical herbalist and health coach, specializing in autoimmune diseases like rheumatoid arthritis. Her interest in plant medicine led Jennifer to spend years studying herbology, physiology, and nutrition. She works one-on-one with her clients via her herbalist and health coaching business, Prairie Hawk Botanica. Jennifer lives on a homestead in rural Texas with her husband, 2 children, and various animals. In her spare time she loves to be in her large herb and vegetable garden. Sharing herb knowledge and her love of natural healing with others is her calling. Steem and Bitcoin accepted.