You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cutting to the chase: what makes for interesting conversation?

in #blog3 years ago

I certainly agree with you on the fact that we live in a "hustle" society, where the only thing that defines your worth is how hard you work every single day. I also agree with you on the fact that small-talk is boring and should be foregone with. However, don't you think that you need to start somewhere and not go from 0 to a 100 after a minute of meeting the person?

I think that to reach the point where you're okay to share your deepest thoughts with someone takes quite a lot of time and while I hate it when things move slow (as I'm a hustler of sorts myself), I want to build a base before climbing higher. I don't want a ladder that only has steps on top of it (as there is no way for me to get up there). What do you think?

Sort:  

I agree, I mean that's what ultimately keeps us coming back and investing in "dull" conversation - the hope that there will be something deeper and more meaningful to be had from that relationship. And yes, definitely, you can't sit next to someone, and start talking about the deep, meaty subjects right off the bat, without first establishing some common ground through chit-chat. It's a shame, though, that many interactions don't go further than that chit chat. Thank you for your comment!