My GCSE results...

in #blog6 years ago

gcse results.jpg

So in England at the end of secondary education, we have to take a set of tests for the subjects we have studied. These are known as GCSEs (General Certificate of Secondary Education).

In total, I sat 23 exams which started on the 15th May and finished on the 15th June. Let's just say... I was glad to see the back of that exam hall!
When it came to our last exam, I think we were all ready for our long summer break hehe.

It didn't help that the exam content was said to be more difficult than previous years and a change in the grading system from A*-G to 9-1, added to the confusion.

For anybody who is unaware of the new 9-1 grading system in England, here is what each grade is roughly equal to in the old grading system we use to have:
new egrading system.jpg
Credit: BBC News

With that being said, Thursday 23rd August arrived and results day now stared me directly in the face.

With my mum waiting in the car, I walked into the centre alone but was greeted by so many familiar faces inside.

Soon after that, I was handed my results...and to be fair... I was pleasantly surprised...

My results

• Maths - 6
• English Literature - 7
• English Language - 5
• French - 7
• Chemistry - 7
• Biology - 6
• Physics - 6
• Business Studies - B
• Geography - 5
Btec Pe - Distinction*
My mum was thrilled with my results when I got back to the car to tell her!
Eventually, when I got home, I spoke to other members of my family who congratulated me and were pleased to hear of my results.

Overall, It was a great day spent with friends, and topped off nicely with a Chinese takeaway. That went down quite nicely indeed ;)

Next mission is to decide what A-levels to take and start preparing for my driving test!

Thanks for reading,
Jonathan

Sort:  

Well done :)

Nice to see success, keep it up !!

Those are some great marks congratulation :)

Thank you @blazing! I'm really pleased with how they turned out. :)

That's impressive. Congratulations. This is a good result and i wish you all the best to come. Glad you made your mum proud.

Thank you! Best wishes to you too! Always a good feeling to know you're doing people proud. :)

Absolutely. I know that feeling. :) Thank you.

Nicely done @jonathanyoung!

What A levels are you thinking of?

I only past my test a few years ago (aged 36), don't worry about getting this right away! :D

Thank You @abh12345! I'm not 100% sure what I want to take as of yet but I was thinking along the lines of Business studies, English lit/lang and psychology.
Still an achievement to pass your driving test no matter the age, congrats! I'm going to start revising for the theory test soon... one less thing in the way then :)

Congrats buddy

That is quite a good result buddy

All of the studying and hard work payed off! Congratulations!

Thank you! I was glad that the work I put in reflected in my results :)

Congratulation buddy keep it up :)

Thank you! I will do :)

Congratulations @jonathanyoung! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

OOh you are so young! By the way nice to see you here on steemit, you have a new follower!

@noemilunastorta Thank you for your kind comment and the follow! :)