Serious Computer Problems - Not Sure What To Do

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Computer-Arg.jpg

Hi everyone! As some of you read, yesterday without permission my computer updated windows 10. I had shut off updates but it went along and did it anyways, right as I ran to the store for a minute. It was stuck for about 11 hours stopping me from getting my work done.

I have 5G internet, it's rocket fast. Never had a problem with my computer which cost me a fortune last May, other than a little glitch when it goes into sleep mode where I have to power boot it to get it to turn back on. Otherwise, it's a great system.

Well after the update yesterday, everything got REALLY slow. I mean snail speed. Takes me about 5 minutes to load a simple Facebook page. Sharing something takes equal time. In some cases, when I share a post on Facebook it suddenly shares like 10 times for some reason. As I'm writing this, the text is lagging about a sentence behind my actual typing here on Steemit.

Along with everything being deadly slow and some things not opening at ALL when I click on them, program codecs are suddenly glitched out. I can't open a couple of programs including my Skype recorder which I use for my interviews which of course are incredibly important to my job.

pamela failed.png

Something similar to this happened to my old computer and it absolutely destroyed it earlier in 2017. Now it doesn't even work when it's not plugged in and when it is plugged in it takes about 25 minutes to load anything.

I'm not sure what to do at this point. I need this computer for my work. For my living. I can't afford to constantly be going out and buying extremely expensive computers twice a year as well as paying HUGE internet bills to make things fast only for everything to get deadly slow regardless.

Are there any proper fixes? I don't want to have to buy a new laptop.

Also, I know many are going to tell me to get Linux. Okay, I will, but I need to solve THIS problem right now as I have a lot of work to get done.

I appreciate any advice or references! Thank you! :)

Sort:  

When you start the computer you can try to launch last known good configuration...
maybe you got system restore, to rollback the update...
You can have dual boot, just need to create extra partitions so other operating systems have a spot to be installed on later...

I can try that I suppose, but am I going to lose data?

It's really not that easy to lose data...
if you rollback the update, you might lose some latest installed program...
Things can go south if you install new operating system on the wrong partition...if you get to a point where you have 2 OS on same partition, one that was installed b4 is moved to WINDOWS.OLD folder, that also contains some non OS files...
Just in case do an external backup...

And when all is fixed disable windows update service through services.msc

Don't do this. Not the correct way to rollback to previous version of Windows.
If you do indeed wish to rollback to W7, here is a guide http://www.thewindowsclub.com/rollback-from-windows-10

Once you are back at W7, the best way to prevent upgrade to W10 is via a tool like
Never10 - https://www.grc.com/never10.htm

W10 is more efficient than W7, and starts and runs better with fewer resources. It is however a bit of a snoop. However these spying features can be disable using tools like the ones discussed here
https://www.ghacks.net/2015/08/14/comparison-of-windows-10-privacy-tools/

Put my upvote towards a new one! The better u get at your job the more often your laptops might mysteriously slow down. I would take it as a sign of success!

LOL Thanks! Yeah, I suppose so. Well going through 2 laptops a year seems to be a sign of some success I guess. :P

It sure is. Internet Security is such a huge thing. It is #1 on my list of things to study more. Probably the most important area to practice being self sufficient & stay up on it. One of my favorite wam messages!

I've had the same problem when it forced me to Windows 10... when I'm on my pc later i'll see if I can find the solution I used to fix it!

Edit: found it, this helped me a couple of times:

https://m.reddit.com/r/Windows10/comments/3fm7m8/windows_10_is_very_laggy_and_slow_after_the_update/

buy new one

Josh, YOU DON'T NEED A PC. Get a chromebook, much cheaper, faster, and can do everything that you need to do. Don't spend big bucks on a Mac or another PC. I switched to a chromebook when I started on Steemit and I will never have to go back!

Go buy another laptop.

Did you read what I wrote? I JUST DID! lol I shut off updates and it went through anyways. I spent an insane amount of money on this laptop and had it shipped in because no stores sold it and Windows screws me again.

You said you dont want to buy another one, i dont want to either but it looks like i have to. We both know somebody who can provide a ghostpad and accepts crypto for payment and ships from Canada.

Google suggests going to Start>Settings>Update & Security>Recovery>Go back to Windows 7 (Get Started)
I don't have win 10 myself, so see if this leads where it should, pretty sure you can find Update & Recovery in Control Panel.

I have no idea whether or not this could be related to the #meltdown #spector bugs, but check that out.

I don't know where you live, but consider taking it to BestBuy's GeekSquad.

Have you had a look at Task Manager to see if there's a specific process that's using a lot of your resources?

Yeah, absolutely nothing. Also, this computer has 16gb RAM.

You could try a system restore to a point just before the update started?

Yeah, I suppose. Just don't want to lose data. I use about 7 terabytes a year in files. Rolling back even a day or two could cause me to lose a lot of data. I guess I'll have to try backing a bunch of stuff up.

Just make sure you back anything important up before doing that though!

try this, if you liked the perfomance of the computer before the upgrade, use system recovery and set it to a date before the upgrade and everything will go back to how it used to be.

I suggest installing Linux.
It never updates without asking you to.

What are the windows only programs that you use?

Have you tried fromatting the system by good to we're we can find the update you will see the option there

Take a look into this... I fixed my problem following their advice:

https://www.tecklyfe.com/possible-fix-windows-10-running-very-slow/

Josh, do you us Never10 to block win10 upgrades? Or did you have windows 10 and it just forced an update? I have my employer's computer with windows 10 set to not do auto updates and his forced through some huge update last week...took for-ever. His didn't slow down though.

Meltdown and Spectre are taking over your life !! aaarggghhh !!

Tech issues are the worst

Hope you find a solution.
As suggested by other people, try to recover to the configuration before the messy update.
Try to disable not needed services and other stuff that get reenabled when such forced updates are performed, those stuff are transforming any good computer in a turd

My 2 cents tips after you have finished the fireman mode : when I am on the move, I have one or two hard drives with me in case of any issue. One for data and one for the OS. I do not know if you have more than one HD in your laptop, if so it is a good idea to have one dedicated for the data and one for the OS. Next, having a spare HD (with external case) for each that you synchronize periodically (daily for data and weekly for the OS) so in case of issue just like you have, you can quickly swap any HD (need a few tools), you do not loose too much time, you reduce the risk of loosing data, and you avoid to be stuck.
May be having 2 laptops seems a bit crazy when you are on the move, it can be helpful when you have this kind of joke (some time spent to perform updates and data synchronization)

To be honest your best fix is probably to scrap windows and try out Linux. I use Linux Mint 17.3 but later versions are now available. Windows 10 was always slow and buggy so I decided to dual boot my laptop with Linux. It took some reading and research to learn how to do it but I got there in the end and I've never looked back. I've been on a fast bug free Linux laptop for over 2 years now and only had the smallest of problems that are usually easily fixed by having a look online. Because it uses a Unix based architecture Linux is fast, secure and easy to use. It just requires a slightly different mindset to use it. In terms of compatability most things work, the only thing I can't do is use my sony companion software to back up my phone but there are always workarounds. Give it a go. You can download an OS to a USB drive and try it out by booting from the USB. There are loads of different flavours of Linux, just find the one that suits you. I use Ubuntu on my old laptop but Mint is easier to use.

I just read the last line - yes do get linux! ;) But honestly, it shouldn't take you too long once you've worked it out. Infact, if you still have your old laptop try it out on there first using a clean install (ie not dual boot). Then when you're happy with it back up your data and dual boot your newer laptop for the odd occasion that you need to use Windows - I think I've had to use mine twice last year.

This is a software and not a hardware issue, so you don't really need a new notebook. More than likely you have software installed that worked ok with W7 that doesn't agree with Windows 10. This could be a driver issue (like an older version of Intel RST) or an application that loads on startup (often supplied by you PC manufacturer). Unfortunately I don't have enough information to give specific advice, but would recommend the following generic solutions.

  • Download and install CCleaner (by Piriform)
  • Using CCleaner
    • Perform a cleanup (Specifically of system temporary files). If you are thinking of going back to W7, make sure you untick the "Previous windows versions" option from the list.
    • Click on "Tools" button in left hand column and select "Startup"
    • Select all items under the "Windows" tab, then click on the "Disable" button (no, NOT delete ! We'll want to start turning these back on again after restarting)
    • Restart notebook. If the problem is no longer evident, go back into CCleaner and start to enable (a couple at a time) startup items we disabled in the previous step. Restart again. If the problem comes back, you'll be able to figure out which program was causing it
  • Check notebook manufacturer support site for updated software and drivers for W10
  • Reinstall / perform repair on Skype and Pamela for Skype

Good luck ! Reach out if you need more advice.

Hi Josh,

I recently went through this exact same problem. The Windows 10 update went into an endless loop where almost every update failed - causing the PC to restart and redownload the huge files again and again. It took me a month and multiple methods but I finally figured it out! It's complicated so I'm going to post it here on Steemit tonight or tomorrow as a guide titled Windows 10 Update: Endless Loop Fix.

Best regards,
Lance