2500 Challenge - Set 1

in #blog4 months ago (edited)

It's been a week in Josie's Year of The Arts.. and surprisingly, I've actually been quite an active sponge, trying my best to soak up as much art-related content as I physically can. One of such newly found marvels of artsy content is "Art Prof: Create & Critique" Youtube channel.

In one of their videos - Self-Taught Artists: You Can Learn Art without Art School - one of the advice was to draw 2500 drawings (consisting of 1k drawings of heads; 500 arms; 500 legs; 250 hands and 250 feet).

Sounds like a challenge! A Josie loves a good challenge. It is known.


For the 4 heads I used Drawing faces tutorial by HamRib Art

But knowing me, I need a system to keep track of those numbers so, I came up with a simple solution. I have to complete 250 sets of 4 heads, 2 arms, 2 legs, 1 hand, and 1 foot.



Initially, I thought 250 days, but decided on sets instead, as, knowing me, I'll need some room for flexibility as some days I might not be able to make a single set, whilst others, I might tackle more than just one, depending on free time, energy levels and all other factors that might affect the process.

Here's my first set finished -



Don't judge too harshly my first attempt, that's why there are 249 more attempts to go, to inevitably grow and become better. But I think it's actually a really good start if I do say so myself. Sure, I do see plenty of wonky mistakes in these, but the idea is to go through quantity to get to quality. There's just literally no way of finishing 249 other sets like these and not seeing improvement in skill. And that is exactly what I'm banking on here.



I am not trying to guess how quickly I can get through with all of them, I'll just have to go with the flow of each day and see.

I doubt I'll post every single set, as it will become too repetitive and boring too soon, but I'm sure I'll post some highlights along the way with some of my favorite results, as well as an eventual recap of the whole challenge once it's done. But don't hold your breath, this will take quite the time. 250 days IF I can keep the pace of 1 set per day.



I'd hope it would take less than 250 days, but life surely will have it's own final say on the matter.

Wish me luck on my art journey and I'll catch you soon enough!


Hugs&Coffee,
~Josie~

Sort:  

That’s an impressive challenge. I look forward to seeing what happens as you go!

Thank you for your encouraging comment! !HUG
Means a lot.
I did manage to slam against another mental block, but just today I think I figured out how to deal with it.
I have to trick my brain into thinking that it is normal and natural for me to draw by practicing drawing in my imagination - saves paper and resources, and I don't have to scrutinize all the mistakes afterward. Just need to get over that last mental hurdle.. it feels sooo close, nearly tangible.


Hugs&Coffee,
~Josie~

That’s an interesting solution. I suppose you could even practice drawing in the air with your finger.

In Japan, you often see children practicing their kanji that way, or even writing characters on their palms with their fingertips.

Anything that connects a motion to an image should work.

Dear @boxcarblue, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @josie2214.
(1/2)

Just wanted to leave a special personal "thank you" for all this time delegation to the Pub and notify you about the recent news @atexoras.pub.

I personally need more time for my own life and I think it is also time to pause those reports as the impact I initially thought it would have didn't expand (probably my fault 🤣 but it's good to assume stuff).

The Pub continues to exist and I will continue to grow its account for general public influence and because it's that special place where everything started.

THANK YOU! 😍 🙏

And see you around as usual... ATX will continue to expand... and in the future, more stuff will come to the Pub.

Congratulations @josie2214! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

Congratulations @josie2214! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024