You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mobbs' Memoirs: The time I left my life behind for a foreign world, and how I met @hugmug

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Hold on! You can't just end a story with a cliff hanger like that! Why didn't it end well? I've often dreamed of doing what you're currently doing. At the moment, I'm working on getting a degree, though I've been told you don't need one to teach over there. However, I'd rather take the proper steps because I've heard you can get a bad wrap by doing it the other way.

That didn't stop a few of my friends from going to China and teaching over the course of 5 years. Numerous times they practically begged me to come over, but I just felt as if my life wasn't organized. I'm beginning to realize how necessary it is to believe in yourself to take that leap of faith. I love hearing stories such as yours, because it pushes me ever so closer to that moment I may just "do it." I hope all is well with you now man. Looking forward to see the conclusion.

By the way @hugmug sounds like a pretty cool dude. As for Logan, I'm American as well and can attest that people from BAMA are good peeps.

Sort:  

I'd definitely say if you haven't got yourself fully tied down with families and dogs and stuff, there's no reason not to, but at the same time I would certainly not advise China for numerous reasons, though your friends are there I guess.

I live here too of course but only because I established my life before knowing what i know now... so I discourage anybody visiting or moving here!

As for the cliff hanger... heh. I'm not sure that I'll continue it either =P

Oh I’m aware of the reasons not to move there, lol. I only have one friend remaining in China now. He opened up an aquarium business with another expat. Seems to be doing well, but I only know what he lets on. Kind of like you. :p

Just curious, what tier city is Anyang? I personally thought Chengdu looked intriguing. I’ll eventually visit China, but I’m staying clear of large cities. I actually just want to take a trip specifically to take photos. My life here in the states is keeping me busy at the moment though so I’m not moving anytime soon.

The anyang I lived in is in Korea, not China. There is an Anyang in China though, but it's more prefecture level than tiered.

I really need to see a bit more of China too, I've gotten myself stuck in Shanghai lol, but lots of travel due this year!

Ah, I see now. I guess I should have picked up on that when noticing coastline to the west, lol. Well, good luck on your travels man! May the steemforce be with you.