Crypto Freelancing

in #blog6 years ago

Happy Monday Steemians!

Over the weekend I was watching some of the live coverage of the Ethereal Summit via Crypt0sNews and I’ve heard of a segment of freelancers using Blockchain as a platform to offer jobs and getting paid in crypto. I thought this was amazing! It’s certainly an alternative option to other freelancing platforms that just offer payment in fiat

Many of my peers from gradeschool have earned their degrees, earned their certifications and still struggle to get jobs in their field. Maybe because there isn't much job opportunity or few avenues to specialize in. It’s heartbreaking to hear my friends earn degrees in Computer Science and working in a grocery store deli or stuck at entry level jobs just to make the bills. They have passion and drive to learn new skills for the portfolio and still not able to land a job. Maybe because of their lack of work experience or maybe they’re stuck because of a glass ceiling. Despite these hurdles, it's still possible to pick up freelance work on the side to gain work experience to add to their portfolio. It’ll add purpose to their drive to learn more, work towards a deadline and be rewarded at the end of the project.

I have yet to use these sites but I’m highly curious, hopefully they’ll be more useful to my fellow Steemians:

Ethlance-ngpc1mahvuoitxvevdpp024s02whof18egea0uw7qi.jpg

image from BTCManager.com

https://ethlance.com - As the name suggests it’s freelancing and getting paid in Ethereum. Ethlance doesn’t take a profit for what is earned, the amount paid by the employer is what the employee will receive. It’s free to enroll and free to post jobs just have to pay a little bit of gas for operations. The main wallet to use for Ethlance is MetaMask, a browser extension. Some of the jobs postings involve creating a website, graphic design, or blockchain engineer and many more unique opportunities worth checking out!

https://www.cryptogrind.com was another freelancing site I discovered that pays in Bitcoin. Registration and posts are free. Cryptogrind has much more variety in searchable categories and customer support if an issue arises.It seems more polished than Ethlance, having an escrow worries me as it doesn’t seem as decentralized.

With crypto freelance work I hear theft is a great concern, hopefully these websites offer mechanisms to help prevent that. With blockchain being so transparent hopefully feedback will warn us which projects are shady and which are more trustworthy.

Another concern I’ve heard “I need fiat to pay the bills!” some crypto debit cards do exist, I hear there’s a shift payments card that can link to Coinbase https://www.shiftpayments.com/coinbase and when you swipe your card it does a market order to pay in fiat. Another option I heard is https://uphold.com its another online wallet that stores many fiat currencies, metals and crypto. What makes Uphold unique is you can generate a virtual debit card. I believe there's more of a markup with Uphold but it’s certainly a convenience, Paypal better watch out!

There's certainly better crypto freelancing platforms out there and some are having an ICO to create the next generation. Please let me know which platforms you may prefer and some of your experiences so I may refer them to my friends and peers. Thank you!

Sort:  

Nice write up. Definitely worth a look see. My only problem is i got to much work, way to much work, so much work right now i dont think ill have a day off for the next 2 months

But we have 48 hour days (hopefully 8 hour work shifts) and 9 day weeks! It should be plenty of time ^0^

I hope you'll find some time to rest, don't work yourself to exhaustion

To late. Already exhausted. The thing that saddens me most is where are all the young bucks eager to make money? They simply dont exist. We hired a guy awhile back and all he did was complain about how he couldnt beleive we worked so hard all day every day for what little money we make. It was comical and disheartening all at the same time. All day long this guy would say "I can't", " it's too heavy" ... "I can't, omg how do you do this every day"
I call it M.I.C.D millennial I cant disease..blah bla blah...it's to hot outside, I'm a little snowflake I might melt.. Nobody has that burning desire or WANT to work except us old guys ... IDK what to think about it anymore so I guess I'll get off my soap box.

This will definitely come in handy for me as a freelancer. Theft is a concern. I been scammed by clients quite a bit and more comfortable if there is escrow as it discourages such scammers. Because of my region there is very little options for me to readily use the crypto I earn easily so I fall into “I need fiat to pay the bills!” category. ^^'