the last couple minutes of the film

in #blog6 years ago

I watched the new film adaptation one of my favorite books of russian literature. I watched with great pleasure, but the last few minutes was wiped all pleasure. I did not touch the processing script. "It could be, all in the spirit of the author," I thought. And then before the credits roll on the most touching scene showed that all the characters will die in convulsions. Well, not quite in convulsions, but... What for? I remember, that this book has happy end. I remember, that the previous adaptation was with a good ending. The last scene was like a punch in the stomach and I still can't get over it.
If there was at least some sense - I would have understood it. I understood even the death of minor characters, which I liked. But such a meaningless sweep of all? On the more cozy background? It's as Paddington was a wild bear and in the end devoured all.
I do not like bad ends of movies. When I wrote the stories, for me it was an intellectual exercise - there is a problem, you need to find a solution. From my point of view a dramatic drain of heroes is a waste of resources and failure to learn to solve problems. I agree with the person who said "You show me how to solve the problem of Romeo and Juliet or the dilemma of Hamlet, but not how they may die."

I conclude - this was the last time when I don't looked into the end of the story before start to watch or read. Pretty sharp post turned out. but too hurt((

I want to ask a question - do you need a happy ending? Do you consider it as an example of solving the problem?

Sort:  

"Open ending" is not for everyone. Any Director may propose an alternative version. One sad - when a good adaptation is spoiled in a moment.
Happy ending want to meet in reality! Drama can stay in books and movies)

With the last sentence is difficult disagree))